1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Video Switching - What's the point?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by ChickenDevil, Feb 12, 2004.

1. ChickenDevil

ChickenDevil
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Forgive me for my ignorance here, as I'm new to this and have just bought my first home theatre system.

Can anybody tell me the advantages & disadvantages of switching your video through your amplifier/receiver?

I have a Yamaha RX-V540RDS receiver and thought that routing all my video inputs through this as well as the audio would somehow make selecting sources easier. I knew that connecting the video through the receiver using the s-video connections was never going to be as good as connecting to the TV direct using RGB, and also, the receiver was likeley to degrade the signal, but was willing to put up with this if the degradation was minimal, and the advantages outweighed this.

I connected everything up, and have great sound and video (to my eyes anyway!), however, the reason for my question is this:

As I'm connected to the TV from the S-video outputs, the TV doesn't auto sense a signal and change to the correct imput as it would if connected using a scart (pin 8 I think), so I have to manually change my tv to EXT2, and I also have to change my amp to the correct input, if this is not already selected.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but if I connected all my video inputs direct to the TV's scart sockets, the TV would auto sense and change to the correct input when a source was turned on, and I would only have to change the input on the amp for the sound. As well as this, I could connect my RGB enabled devices to the TV's RGB scart and this would cut down on signal degradation as there would be less connections and I believe RGB is preferable to S-video or (god forbid) composite.