1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Video Switching through Yamaha RX-V540RDS

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by ChickenDevil, Feb 9, 2004.

1. ChickenDevil

ChickenDevil
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new at all this so please bear with me, and also apologies in advance for the length of this post.

I'm trying to connect up my system with all audio and video going through my receiver/amp and have a couple of questions.

My setup is as follows:

TV: Philips 28pw6506 - 2 X SCART CONNECTIONS (1 X RGB 1 X S-VIDEO ENABLED, analogue audio O/P)

AMP: Yamaha RX-V540RDS - S-VIDEO, COMPOSITE AND COMPONENT, VIDEO INPUTS / OUTPUTS. DIGITAL / ANALOGUE AUDIO INPUTS / OUTPUTS.

DVD: Yamaha DVD-S540 - 1 x SCART, s-video, Composite, Component Video, Digital / Analogue Audio

VCR: Philips VR730/07 - 2 X SCARTS (AV1 & DECODER), Composite, Analogue Audio Outputs.

SKY+ TO FOLLOW.

My first question: Am I right in assuming that if I connect my amp to my TV with an s-video connection, that the TV won't auto sense an input and therefore change to the correct AV connection when the amp is turned on? I originally assumed that if for instance I had the TV on say BBC1, that when I turned on the amp & DVD player that the tv would sense this and automatically switch to the AV input, however, when this didn't happen, I worked out that there is no 'switching' connection on an s-video plug.
    Does this mean I will need to manually change the TV to the correct AV input? (I know this isn't such a big deal, but I just want to confirm this).