Video Senders & Wireless Networks

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by dork knight, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. dork knight

    dork knight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +34
    Hi!

    Am thinking of getting a video sender so that we can watch Sky on the tv upstairs but we have just got a Netgear wireless network and I was wondering if they will interfere with each other and, if so, is there anything you can do so that they will both work OK at the same time or should I just forget about having both?

    Thanks!
     
  2. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +42
    i have a linksys wireless setup and a philips wireless video sender and i dont get that much interference. Bluetooth technology causes a lot of intererence.
     
  3. markfraser

    markfraser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Tranwo video senders and baby monitor (video) and it gets horrible interference from my 3com wireless network. More on the baby monitor to be honest. Its bad enough that we can't really use both at the same time
     
  4. wicket

    wicket
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    493
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +10
    I have an AEI digisender system plus a Belkin wireless router. The router doesn't cause any problems, however, people moving around the house causes interference. We only usually use it at night so it isn't a problem.
     
  5. Gavin01

    Gavin01
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    I have a maplin digi sender and that suffers badly from my 3com router
     
  6. markfraser

    markfraser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine came from from maplin too - probably the same one, and my router is a 3com one. It's a bloody nightmare isn't it?
     
  7. Gavin01

    Gavin01
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    It certainly is, as the picture i get with my £29.99 maplin is excellant when i switch the router off.

    Ive tryed changing channels as well
     
  8. Greamec

    Greamec
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    S.E. England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a philips wireless video sender and a 3com wirless modem router + blutooth, the only problem I get is with the Blutooth. you can change the setting on the philips wireless video sender by flicking a switch and you can change the settings on the router in the software so that you do not get interferance.

    Greame
     
  9. AndySee

    AndySee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have Buffalo Air Station and One for All (All in One whatever..) sender and experience no problems at all. Mind you not really used/tested all of them at same time. Have DECT phones too. all work happily together.
     
  10. purpleperson

    purpleperson
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am considering a One for all SV1710 AV sender and have a wireless network. The router is a Draytek Vigor 2600VG.

    Is there a definitive answer about wireless networks and AV senders

    Thanks

    purpleperson
     
  11. Gavin01

    Gavin01
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bromley, Kent
    Ratings:
    +10

    It seems to be pot luck really, some days my system is fine other days i get more interference. Sorry to be of no help
     
  12. Spooksta

    Spooksta
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2000
    Messages:
    3,217
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Ratings:
    +649
    D-Link Network and Philips wireless sender here and no problems. Am after an extra receiver for my Philips if anyone knows where to get one. Google coms up with them but nowhere has them. My philips is the 1400 model and the extra receiver is 1401 i think..
     
  13. Hopeful

    Hopeful
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the Netgear 834G router and the Philips VL1200 and have had no problems with interference. There are 4 channel options on the VL1200 and although there is interference on a couple the other 2 are fine.

    Am also using Bluetooth intermittently and have 5 Dect phones spread round the house but still get excellent picture so no worries about this combination.
     
  14. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Dect phones don't use 2.4GHz. They use 1.8GHz.
     
  15. johnnycab

    johnnycab
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried the Philips and AEI digisender, with varying degree of success. I have a wireless network with 2-3 PC's. Both digisenders worked fine for one of the rooms. However, in one of the rooms they both had a lot of interference - repositioning the antennae helped a bit.

    Another issue with both digisender's was that, using a microwave renders them completely useless. The picture and signal quality on the AEI is definitely better than the Philips. The Sky remote works better too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...