video sender and sky (PQ issue)

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by common, Jun 5, 2003.

  1. common

    common
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    This may be a dumb question but..I have a phillips wireless video sender to send sky to the TV upstairs.

    My problem is that I have a great picture currently with a £50 QED scart going direct to my Toshiba 36ZD26. To use the video sender I have to connect a scart to the sender and then through to the TV - this has a negative effect on the PQ.

    Would using the second scart output (vcr out ?) on the sky box to a spare scart on the TV work ?

    I would try myself but it is a major hassle to get to the back of the TV.

    Thanks
     
  2. Geoffc10

    Geoffc10
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes, use video out on sky box connected to video sender, use tv scart on sky box to tele.
    works on my system anyway
     
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    Why connect the output back to the TV?
    Use the VCR scart out to the sender (and then onto VCR if you have one) and then leave the scart output on the sender unconnected.
    I have this type of connection from my TiVo (and on to VCR) and it works fine. You will not get a much better picture upstairs useing RGB from the TV output to sender (if sender even sends RGB), but will get improved PQ on your main TV.

    Mark.
     
  4. common

    common
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks chaps
     
  5. D J Fryer

    D J Fryer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    741
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +13
    thought I would bump this after a search - I have a PQ problem with the same sender BUT I have the following connections and only one RGB scart on my TV

    DVD>Sky+ (VCR Scart) then Sky+ (TV Scart)>TV (RGB Scart)

    If I put the video sender between Sky+ (TV Scart) and TV (RGB Scart) then I only get a composite pic on TV rather than RGB (I am assuming the sender does not pass through RGB or switching as I have to manually select AV1 on the TV)

    Is there any way with this sender that I can get an RGB pic for Sky + and DVD on this TV with sender connected up so that I can get Sky+ upstairs (I know that this has to be composite as that's all it sends!)

    Help much appreciated as the alternative is to go out and buy the OFA VL1720 that states it has RGB passthrough.
     
  6. johndj1

    johndj1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have sort of the same problem:
    Sky->Video Sender->JS Tech RGB Converter->TV

    The Video Sender does not parse RGB so to get around it I plugged a Scart Switch between them so I now have the pain of having to flick a switch when going to bed... hardly ideal.

    I've been told you can sort of get around it by using Sky Scart Out to VCR Scart In and then VCR Scart Out to Video Sender Scart In. Haven't tested this though.
     
  7. D J Fryer

    D J Fryer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    741
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +13
    I think the answer (simple one anyway) is to get the OFA VS 1720 sender - it has RGB pass through - have ordered one today
     
  8. D J Fryer

    D J Fryer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    741
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +13
    And received it today - will post findings after setting it up!
     
  9. johndj1

    johndj1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    DJ , could you let me know what model it is, price and supplier?

    Cheers

    Dan
     
  10. D J Fryer

    D J Fryer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    741
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +13
    Dan - the sender is made by One for All and the model is VS1720 - the only two suppliers I could find online were www.blackstar.co.uk (£89.99 inc del) or www.dalepakdirect.com (£86.99 + £5 del) - there was one on e-bay but I missed out (it went for the nearly new cost anyway!. I got mine from Dalepak because I could phone to check stock - ordered yesterday afternoon, received this morning by special delivery along with an extra Sky+ remote - very good service, lets just hope it works!
     
  11. johndj1

    johndj1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    cool, let me know how it goes
     
  12. D J Fryer

    D J Fryer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    741
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +13
    well intial reports on the VS1720 sender are good - it passes RGB through to main TV and the sound and signal quality on the second TV are very good - even better is the IR sending - no specific placement problems or use of IR extenders to the supplying devices - the front panel obviously has a decent blaster that's not fussy on placement (it is on a AV rack on the shelf above the Sky+ and DVD) - the only down side is that (like the old Philips I had) it does not pass the AV channel switching signal so I have to select this manually using my remote (I may have to do a little macro on the pronto to get over that !)

    All in all definitely worth the £90 or so :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...