1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Video+plus and Tosh XS32question

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by welsh alex, Jan 23, 2005.

  1. welsh alex

    welsh alex
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    got my XS32 yesterday and now just waiting for sky in a few weeks. :thumbsup:

    Tried a video plus recording last night but it started recording about 3 min early and finished 3 min early. i had PDC on.

    why did this happen and how can i prevent it in the future.
    thanks
    alex
     
  2. JethroUK

    JethroUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +0
    i've always found PDC spot on - which suggests your clocks not set to right time?

    PDC only effects the built-in tuner & ITV sometimes not supported (not in my area)

    you should be able to check which channels support PDC, via pdc indicator (switches on/off like nicam indicator)
     
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,788
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,883
    I don't think the RD-XS32 has a PDC indicator in the display? can someone confirm?
     
  4. welsh alex

    welsh alex
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i cant see it either?
     
  5. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,788
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,883
    No, that's because it doesn't have one.
    Personally I wouldn't use PDC..........it's too unreliable and most broadcasters don't use it anyway.
    Auto-clock setting has also been found guilty of failed recordings so personally I would turn it off.
    You'd be better off recording from a digital input (such as Sky or Freeview) for better quality.
    PDC isn't broadcast on Digital transmissions.
     
  6. BillTheButcher

    BillTheButcher
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Agreed. I thought my Panasonic DMR-E95 was faulty because several recordings completely failed to start. The common factor was that I was trying to use PDC on all of them.

    I haven't used PDC again and the timer has worked perfectly ever since. :)

    (I just set the recorder to come on a couple of minutes early and run for 15-20 minutes after the programme is scheduled to finish.)
     
  7. SDHoward

    SDHoward
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I can.. its on the front panel and seems to flash on and off, going more solid when doing a pdc recording, although I'm not entirely sure what it means...
     
  8. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,788
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,883
    Are you sure that's not the Nicam indicator your'e seeing?.
    Where in the display is it?
    According to the "Display" diagram on page 18 of the operation manual it does not have a "PDC" indicator.
    It does have a "PBC" indicator but that's a different thing entirely.
     
  9. SDHoward

    SDHoward
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Its definitly PDC
    It is definitly NOT shown in the manual..I spent ages looking for it a while back to see what exactly it indicated.
    It is just to the left of the record indicator and above the PBC indicator
    It only apears when the recorder is off (and not in eco mode) and set up to do a PDC recording (when it flashes) or during an actual PDC timed recording (when it apears almost solid).
     

Share This Page

Loading...