1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Video Inputs/Outputs

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by littlecharva, Apr 28, 2004.

1. littlecharva

littlecharva
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Howdy,

I've just recently bought a Sony STRDB1070 second hand from a mate. I've ordered myself a Sony DVD/SACD player and some surround sound speakers, but I'm a bit confused by the amount of terminals on the back of my AV reciever.

I was under the impression that when my DVD player comes, I'll connect the audio using an optical cable to my AV reciever and connect the video to my TV using a SCART cable. So what are all the composite video and svideo in and out things for on my amp?

What are my options?

By the way, I'm new to this game, incase you haven't guessed :)

Cheers,
    LittleC

2. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    Hi littlecharva & welcome to the forum!
    theres no problem with being new to this hobby, we all were at some point and the best way to lean is to do exactly as you have and ask.

Right, the video inputs on an AV receiver are there to make life easier :rolleyes: if you have more video sources than inputs on your TV. You can use the inputs into the AV so that as you switch the audio to say watch a DVD it will also switch the picture output to the TV.
    Most TV's will have say 2 scart sockets and you may have VCR, Sky, Freeview & DVD etc. If all connected through the AV there are no problems as you have around 8 inputs.
    If this is not a problem for you then connect the video output from the DVD directly to the TV and save some money on the extra cables that you would otherwise need.

Mark.

3. markshannon

markshannon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey,