1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Video Decoder Error

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Synchro, Mar 10, 2005.

  1. Synchro

    Synchro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +1,385
    Using NVIDIA Geforce Ti 4600

    HAUPPAUGE NOVA-T DIGITAL WITH FM STEREO TUNER

    Using MS Media Centre.

    What can the probelm be?


    "The video decider has either malfunctioned or is not installed. Please restart Media Centre and/or the computer".
     
  2. Dave_M

    Dave_M
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Harrow
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's a discussion about this going on in the 'How good is the ELonex Artisan' thread ...
     
  3. Synchro

    Synchro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +1,385
    Most of what I saw, was of little relevence. Thanks anyway.
     
  4. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,134
    What codecs do you have installed on the PC? What type of movie are you trying to play?
     
  5. Synchro

    Synchro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +1,385
    I am trying to watch free to view TV.

    I have not installed any extra codecs?

    How would I find out what codecs i have installed?
     
  6. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,134
    If you bought this from a retailer, I guess they should provide you with support? If you built it yourself, then have you checked that the graphics card and tv card are MCE compatible, and have you the latest drivers installed and got all the windows updates.

    Has it ever worked?
     
  7. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +753
    In Device Manager, "look at properties of sound,video and game controllers".

    This may not list all installed codecs.
    A free utility called GSpot gives much more detail when you download , install and run it.
    You can search for this in Google (with a search string like "Gspot video codecs").

    Chris Muriel , normally Manchester - currently working in Poznan, Poland.
     
  8. Synchro

    Synchro
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,701
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +1,385
    Home bulid.

    Not first PC, but first Media PC.

    Anyone else using these cards with MCME 2005?
     
  9. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,134
    Ok, well here is a link to supported hardware http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/mediacenter/partners/dfw/partnerlisting.mspx

    It doesn't look like your graphics card is supported, I am running mine with a Geforce FX5200 which is inexpensive, fanless (silent) and works well...

    Getting all the latest MCE approved drivers for your hardware is important, and you will need an approved DVD codec, not sure if you need that for TV viewing or not, but you will have to put one on there anyway. I use PowerDVD6, but there are others that are good, Nvidia / Theatertek is popular.

    Also try www.xpmce.com and www.thegreenbutton.com for more help and info.

    Good luck
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2017

Share This Page

Loading...