Video Conversion and switching

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by gwc, Sep 9, 2004.

1. gwc

gwc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi,

I am currently planning out a Home Cinema and I am current looking at the cabling side.

Do Scalers/processors perform a conversion switching function? So that you only need to run one cable (say DVI) to a Projector.

Or do you need to running a cable for each source component?

Cheers

Gwc

2. Dan Smiffy

Dan Smiffy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes you would only need to run one cable from the scaler to your display - as well as scale / covert or whatever it'll also switch. I run a single lead from my scaler to the plasma. Now all I gotta do is bury that cable in the wall... ;)

dan.

3. gwc

gwc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Dan,

Thanks for the reply. Do you have an recommendations as I have no experience of scalers/processors and need a nudge in the right direction.

Cheers

gwc

4. Dan Smiffy

Dan Smiffy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hiya, I bought an iScan HD to sit between my sources and my screen and while I am very (*very*) happy with it I cannot really advise "buy X not Y" because I have no experience of any others in operation! In the same way that all "what plasma should I buy?" threads turn into an "I bought a X and I love it" vs "I bought a Y" posting competition, I'll start by saying the iScan made my NTL Digital box's pictures watchable on my 50 incher, because when sent straight to the screen I could've cried! And on top of that it is (relatively) cheap. Next month Gordon's coming round to ISF me, when that's done the source -> scaler -> screen will arguably look as good as it is ever gonna look so I'll be in a better position to judge just how fab it all is. I'll get back to you!

Dan.

5. gwc

gwc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7