Video capture software

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by J273, Sep 16, 2007.

  1. J273

    J273
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Swadlincote
    Ratings:
    +31
    Im trying to capture videos from my sky+ box using the s-video port.

    Ive got it setup fine s-video from the box to my NOVA TV S-plus (s-video) and line out to line in on my sound card.


    whats the best software to capture the video?...Ive tried movie maker but i need it to be captured in .AVI format.

    Can anyone recommend me some software to capture the video?

    Thanks
     
  2. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343

    Do you want to capture uncompressed AVI?, if so they try dscaler..

    www.dscaler.org

    download version 4..

    set up your card and get to grips with it

    capture at fll fram uncompressed avi

    will need 30mb/s HD transfer rate

    video will be interlaced, so once captured load it into Winodws Media Encoder, selects your compression settings and the deinterlace option then encode

    Alternatively try virtual dub and the Divx decoder for capturing...
     
  3. J273

    J273
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Swadlincote
    Ratings:
    +31
    Thanks ill try dscaler.....I tried virtualdub it records the videos fine but when i play them back for some reason they playback in slow motion as though the pc cant keep up:confused:
     
  4. J273

    J273
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Swadlincote
    Ratings:
    +31
    Yeah dscaler seems to work a treat....what pixel width is best to record in?

    Thanks
     
  5. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,523
    Movie Maker will capture as .AVI, but is set by default to .WMV
    Full help on using Movie Maker can be found Here and details on setting the capture to .AVI Here.

    Mark.
     

Share This Page

Loading...