1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Video calls

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by shoehorn, Jan 22, 2004.

  1. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hi,
    This may be the wrong place - but perhaps someone could help?
    I want to make a video call to my parents... we both have webcams set up and working on our own PCs.
    I did this a couple of years ago, very simply, with NetMeeting - to someone else's PC.
    My parents have just got their webcam - so we thought it would be great to "see" each other (well I think they really want to see their Grandchildren).
    Netmeeting won't let me do this now - I'm that all I did before was to enter the correct IP address and that was that...
    So... can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong; what I should be doing; or if there's an easier / better way to do this.

    Thanks.
     
  2. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    If you have broadband connections and firewalls you could be in trouble. Try MSN Messenger 6.1 which is a later version of the software, and has some workarounds to get video working behind firewalls.

    http://messenger.msn.com/

    StooMonster
     
  3. Pack Dude

    Pack Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lost In Space
    Ratings:
    +98
    You could try a voice chat program like www.paltalk.com you can use your cam with it also but it updates slow. Its free but with ads and pop ups. You also only get moving cams on one on one calls.

    Im sure there are third party cam software that will let you connect directly to each other, jsut cant think of any off the top or me head.
     
  4. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +32
    Thanks gents...
    I'll be giving them a go... :smashin:
     
  5. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    We use MSN Messenger.
    Have a hardware firewall in the router and software firewall on the PC (Zonealarm) and it works fine.
     
  6. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +932
    We have a similar set up but we cant get audio working
     
  7. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Are you using the latest version - 6.1?

    IIRC, there's an issue with audio but there are workarounds...:confused:
     
  8. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +932
    yeah, we downloaded 6.1 last week
     
  9. philsparks

    philsparks
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    my brother and I were using the previous version of messenger (4.7 or something) and it worked fine. We both have broadband, and routers.

    we upgraded to 6.1 and have tried for ages to get it working. We can get the video to work but get no audio. Tried all the patches and downloads - no joy.

    Eventually we both installed this thing called realtunnel, and it finally worked. However although 6.1 is slicker than 4.7 (nicer interface, re-sizable display etc) the video is noticeably poorer - maybe 2 to 3 fps rather than 10 - 20 with 4.7. So we've gone back to 4.7.

    If you search for messenger & audio problems on google you get about 100,000 matches - good old Microsoft !

    Phil
     
  10. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I think it's something to do with Microsoft's non-standard implementation of PNP.
    Or something like that.

    I actually prefer Yahoo Messenger but everyone we know uses MSN so had to change to that...
     

Share This Page

Loading...