1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Video/Audio switching, help ?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by DOCTOR_d, Mar 30, 2005.

  1. DOCTOR_d

    DOCTOR_d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just toying with the idea of mounting my Plasma on the way, but don’t want all the grief of running numerous cables through the wall.

    I was considering the idea of some sort of switching box with one video/audio output, but unsure what route to take. Can a switch box output everything through one DVI cable?

    I currently have the following…..

    PLAYSTATION 2 > SCART (non RGB)
    DVD R > COMPONENT
    SKY+ > SCART (RGB)
    PC > DVI

    Any ideas?

    Cheers


    :lease:
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    dou you have an AV amp? this will swicth all but DVi (unless you spend mega bucks) a £800 scaler will do them all up a DVi cable or an AV amp will do video get one that converts to component and run component and DVi to screen
     
  3. DOCTOR_d

    DOCTOR_d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cheers for the help... :thumbsup:

    I originally used my amp for switching but it's only capable of outputting Phono Video :thumbsdow which is a great shame.

    Is their any cheaper methods? I don't mind losing some quality but dropping from DVI or Component to Phono is just pointless. Would it be worth feeding them all through an old PC and using some Dscaler software?

    ;)
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    either get a new amp with 3 component inputs (£400 will do it) and run component and DVi (only sensible, running 1 cable causes mega potential issue) the PC route can be great "fun" and give very good results needs more thought...........
     
  5. DOCTOR_d

    DOCTOR_d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cheers mate, will go and have a sleep on it.....

    Your up late, no school tomorrow... LOL
     

Share This Page

Loading...