1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vice City and DTS

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by IanW1977, Apr 9, 2003.

  1. IanW1977

    IanW1977
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +487
    Well Tried it and It works !!!!
    I put the Amp on Auto (Marantz 4200) and it comes through 4 speakers (no centre) and the Sub.

    But IMO it's on a par with Listening to it via RCA leads into a decent Stereo.
     
  2. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +932
    I agree VC is great through the amp. Plug it through a projector too its great.

    For atmosphere I would say Ghost Recon on the XBox is much better thru an amp. Birds whislting, trees swaying. Makes for much better ambience.
     
  3. slingshot

    slingshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    Sound on Vice City was OK but I was more impressed with Medal of Honour front line, just prologic not DTS, but it's still impressive esp. the first level which is a ripoff of the opening scene in Saving Private Ryan.
     
  4. mark raeburn

    mark raeburn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Are the dolby digital/DTS soudtracks on PS2 games that much better that the pro logic tracks? The reason I ask is that my amp will not allow me to connect my PS2 picture with a digital audio input, therfore technically it makes it very difficult to have digital audio and PS2 picture without changing all my connections completely.

    Cheers

    Mark
     
  5. slingshot

    slingshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    For in game stuff I'd have to say no, it's probably not worth it, my 2 fave games for sound are MoH and Wipeout Fusion, both of which are only Pro-Logic or PLII in the case of wipeout.
     
  6. IanW1977

    IanW1977
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +487
    Agree with Medal of Honour
    You can hear the enemy behind you.
     
  7. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Steel Battalion on 5.1 is pretty awesome, you hear missles flying past and it confuses the hell out of my Cat. Zelda is fantastic to the water effects on the third island also.

    Neil.
     
  8. Simon Cooper

    Simon Cooper
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would you say that the D-Day landings were also a rip-off of the opening scene in Saving Private Ryan?
     
  9. slingshot

    slingshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    Not sure if Churchill had watched Saving Private Ryan !
     
  10. Simon Cooper

    Simon Cooper
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure he was too busy playing MoH.
     
  11. IanW1977

    IanW1977
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +487
    Has the Gamecube got a Digital Connection ?
     
  12. mark raeburn

    mark raeburn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    It has a digital connection but this is not for sound, it's for component out, currently these leads are only available from Japan. The sound still has to come from the analogue out and PL2 is all you can get from the GC.
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I have seen a conversion you can do to a GC for optical sound but its still stereo so not sure what the point was!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...