1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VIA C3 processor

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Jonesthegas, Feb 16, 2003.

  1. Jonesthegas

    Jonesthegas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +18
    Has anyone built a HTPC around one of these? The C3 is a low power (and therefore low heat) socket 370 CPU from VIA.

    What I would like to know is would a Zalman cooler with the fan off provide enough cooling? It would then, with a fanless GPU cooler and a quiet PSU, be the start of a very quiet HTPC.

    Also, is a CPU running at 900MHz enough for a HTPC?

    Martin
     
  2. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    I am also interested in this, tiny cases with just the sockets you need for HCPCs. Look cool.
     
  3. JohnAd

    JohnAd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    I tried a 700Mhz one out a while ago and it ran like a dog I'm afraid. You could probably just run an HTPC on it (with HW accel) but don't expect to do much extra image processing with it. When I get the time I was going to build a totally silent hi-fi machine with my chip and an old zalman fan as you suggest.

    John
     
  4. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
  5. Jonesthegas

    Jonesthegas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +18
    I had thought of using the 933 MHz model in a VIA Apollo 133T motherboard with lots of RAM. Along with this a Holo3D card and a Radeon 9500 128Pro, hoping these components would do all the processing and therefore I would not require a fast CPU. The OS would be XP Pro.

    How does this sound? A slightly bizarre alternative would be to use 2 of them in a dual processor board with 2 zalman coolers. How does that sound?:confused:

    Martin
     
  6. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Using the H3D that sounds just fine, its only using Dscaler that adds requirement for extra processing power.
     
  7. Jonesthegas

    Jonesthegas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +18
    Does anyone know if Dscaler supports dual CPUs?

    Martin
     

Share This Page

Loading...