vga xbox 360 convertor

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by scorpiofc, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. scorpiofc

    scorpiofc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    evening boys and girls,

    not really too sure if i'm going to explain this properly, but here goes.

    I have an Xbox 360™ VGA HD AV CableXbox 360™ VGA HD AV Cable and i'm trying to hook it up to the back of my tv, however they dont connect (this is where my technical lingo breaks down!) as i have pins on the lead and pins on the tv, is there a convertor i can get?

    I've had a look around but not too sure what i'm looking at!

    Any help would be appreciated.

    cheers
     
  2. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
    It is unusual to have a male VGA connector on a monitor/TV, are you 100% sure you are looking at the correct input?

    Which TV do you have?
     
  3. StevieBuck

    StevieBuck
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,728
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +674
  4. scorpiofc

    scorpiofc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    it an LG hd ready model, its definetly got the pins on the tv, the models about 2 yrs old (and ***** if i may say!), its the smaller of the 2 pc ports, the larger one i have a convertor for but the picture is no going pink which i'm putting down to a faulty fitting and thats the reason why i'm trying to change ports?

    Hope that makes sense?
     
  5. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
    Please tell us the actual model number, not really possible to help you further without it.
     
  6. Dankeech

    Dankeech
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +299
    Hi, I doubt the connector on your TV is a male VGA connector. Count the pins, it's probably got 9 on the TV and labelled 'RS232' which is not a vga connector, just the outside shape is the same. :lesson:

    Please post model of TV and we can advise on connection methods.

    Dan.:)
     
  7. scorpiofc

    scorpiofc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    the model is a LG 32LX1R, the port is RS-232C input, ive googled it and it says this port is used a port to connect for updates, is this the case, if so im a little snookered!
     
  8. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +662
    What you have read is correct.

    I believe your TV has a DVI input available but no VGA sadly :(
     
  9. scorpiofc

    scorpiofc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    cheers for all the help people, i made the decision to get a new telly, a 37inch samsung no less, and it does have a VGA port on the back, this leads me to my next question, which is the best/affordable switch to get, i've seen some but again i dont know which to go for.

    cheers again
     
  10. Dankeech

    Dankeech
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +299
    Hi Scorpiofc, just out of interest, why the specific wish to use VGA output for your Xbox 360 as opposed to the component video output?

    Dan.
     
  11. scorpiofc

    scorpiofc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    its just that i dont have the component lead, got a 2nd hand one and it came with the vga lead, just always used it, for some reason i've always assumed its a better picture quality than the component cables?
     
  12. Dankeech

    Dankeech
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +299
    VGA cable tends to allow less-than-full-HD screen native resolutions (1366x768 etc), but some have reported they find the colours washed out. If you can borrow a component lead, do so - It may be better, may be worse, but you'll be able to make a judgement decision on which is best for your system.

    You can pick up the unofficial component AV cable from ebay for quite little.

    Hope it helps. If you do try a component cable, lets us know if it's better or worse on your TV.
     

Share This Page

Loading...