1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VGA to SCART wow!!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Spacecat, Aug 23, 2005.

  1. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,828
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +528
    Just installed the Keene VGA tor Scart cable bought from someone here for £25 .

    All i can say is WOW!!, the picture quality is superb and unlike using the VGA connection the aspect ratio is also perfect.

    indistinguishable form the direct feed

    Im yet to see a LCD or Plasma that matches CRT in my eyes at least for anything like reasonable money so this is a godsend.

    If you have widescreen CRT TV with a RGB Scart and use MCE with RGB GET ONE!!!
     
  2. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +265
    Did you use power strip to set the reolution, and if so what res did you select, also what would you recomend for a 4X3 TV...
     
  3. SteveL

    SteveL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Got to agree with the OP here, I just recently made one of these cables and the picture quality really is amazing :thumbsup:

    My cable is 15metres long and I was worried about signal loss/crosstalk, but haven't got any of either. This is a WORLD away from the quality of S-Video.

    meansizzler..I use PowerStrip to set a custom resolution of 960x540@50Hz, for a PAL Widescreen TV, the following thread has all the info you need, including some timings for 4:3 TVs.
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=136811&page=1&pp=15

    This cable will ONLY work on Radeon cards
     
  4. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,828
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +528
    im using 16:9 mode 1024x576 resolution

    PowerStrip timing parameters:
    1024x576=1024,32,96,112,576,5,5,39,19750,312

    this is on a Loewe Aconda 32 widescreen Tv
     

Share This Page

Loading...