VGA to Component - Acer to Philips LCD

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by philip5660, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. philip5660

    philip5660
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi,

    I have recently bought a philips 32PFL7962 LCD TV. I already owned an Acer 7520 laptop which is equipped with VGA output.
    I hoped to connect the laptop to the tv using a vga to component cable.

    When I connected the two it seems no matter what resolution i selected the tv displays a message telling me the video mode is not supported.

    The laptop has the Geforce 7000m graphics card - i'm using a refresh rate of 60Hz and there is no option to set it any lower, and i would like to try that.

    i really don't want to have to buy a new DVI output laptop so can anyone help?

    ps i mainly intend to use this for windows media centre and playing music
     
  2. abraxus

    abraxus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +216
  3. philip5660

    philip5660
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    I wish it had a VGA input!

    No those specs are way off - there's no VGA and there's 3 HDMI's (not 2) so I think they've mixed that up with another TV.
     
  4. abraxus

    abraxus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +216
    Sorry didn't realise.

    I don't know if this helps but I had a similar thing the other way round in that I had problems connecting my component V+ box output to my projector vga input.

    I bought one of these which fixed it:

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/YPbPr-Component-to-RGBHV-Video-LCD-TV-VGA-Box-Adapter_W0QQitemZ290197591481QQihZ019QQcategoryZ45341QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    Now I dont know if they work in reverse or if they make one that takes a vga output and delivers to a component input but it might be worth checking out.
     
  5. bigjb

    bigjb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    motherwell
    Ratings:
    +433
    I am curious as to the cable you are trying.I am looking to connect my acer laptop with vga port to a jvc lcd tv which has component and s-video ports but no vga port.
     
  6. philip5660

    philip5660
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +8
  7. philip5660

    philip5660
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +8

    Something like that might work - although i have to say at that price I'd probably consider ebaying the laptop and buying a new one with a DVI output(which i may have to consider)
     
  8. bigjb

    bigjb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    motherwell
    Ratings:
    +433
  9. philip5660

    philip5660
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    i thought it would but now i'm not so sure!
     
  10. philip5660

    philip5660
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    spoke to philips they say it's HDMI or nothing.
    So moral of the story is buy a laptop with DVI out
     

Share This Page

Loading...