VGA --> S-vid or composite

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by eviljohn2, Aug 30, 2003.

  1. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    I'm wondering about moving my old PC into my bedroom. Problem is that there's no way I'll fit the monitor in.

    So, is there a cable/device that will convert the VGA output into either S-Video or composite so I can use it with my TV.

    Video card is an ATI Mach 64 looped through an 8MB Voodoo2, and the main processor is a Pentium 133 clocked up to 166Mhz. 80MB of EDO RAM in total.

    There's no AGP slot (else the solution's pretty simple) and I'm not even sure if the resources are available to use another PCI slot! USB enabled though :cool:

    It's something of a relic, but is just as good at running office programs, programming utilities and net surfing as any newer model - trust me!
     
  2. Pootle

    Pootle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Don't know of anything that does what you describe, but I think there are simple vga to scart RGB converters available if your telly has a scart socket. More important though, can your card output interlaced scan signal? If not a converter will be *really* expensive.

    Also, realise that TV's are on the whole pretty bad at displaying computer information. I tried this for a while and even at 640 * 480 res, the text is fuzzy and nowhere near as easy to read as a computer monitor; I quickly gave that up and bought an LCD screen.
     
  3. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
  4. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Thanks Kramer, that'd do it!

    Just have to be paid now...
    or maybe get that Gamecube :)
     
  6. Rob.Screene

    Rob.Screene
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berks, England
    Ratings:
    +141
    Office on an interlaced telly will make your eyes bleed.
    I agreed with Pootle about a flat panel LCD.

    Takes no space and 17inch 1280x1024 ones are about £199+VAT for a dell one from aria.co.uk. I've just gone to that from a 17 inch CRT and it's fine. Or 15inch 1024x768 LCD's ones are way below that.

    regards,
    Rob.
     
  7. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Fair points Rob.

    Since I only really want it for playing Settlers 2 I'll probably save myself the hassle and get a Gamecube and put up with my computer where it is. That monitor's tempting though!
     
  8. pavlo

    pavlo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why not get a tv IN card for your pc and watch the TV on the PC monitor, then you don't need the TV.

    paul
     
  9. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    14" monitor with very visible curvature against my 24" widescreen TV?
     
  10. Pootle

    Pootle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Apart from watching movies, and games with very little text, I'd go for the 14" monitor (yes TV's really are that bad!)

    Only TV's with component input & that take progressive input are likely to be much good as a computer monitor.
     
  11. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    I can see where you're coming from Pootle.

    I think it's pretty much unfeasible to have my computer in my room so it'll have to stay where it is. Gamecube it is I think :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice