1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VGA pin layout in BD 600

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by ralphot, Feb 24, 2005.

  1. ralphot

    ralphot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have purchased a Barco Data 600 extra cheap (about £50) :) because
    it was "dead". Found a capacitor in the power supply card
    which was short circuit. :thumbsup:

    It works beautiful and a first convergence training has been completed
    with excellent result!

    I wonder now, the TTL (VGA?) connector at the back, what does
    that connector wants? I have no information what is needed there.

    The BNC-connectors are more easy to understand.

    Can I connect the computer graphics card with a cable that
    goes from the card with the DB15c to DB9 into the BD 600?

    Ralph
     
  2. PsychoDogBeast

    PsychoDogBeast
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +36
    Hi there Ralph

    Forget the TTL input, what you need is to make a HD15 to 5 BNC cable, they are very simple to make, i will try and dig out a pin to pin diagram for you, or buy a cheapie one from a local computer retailer or fleabay.

    Best regards

    James
     
  3. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +88
    Hi Ralph,

    Have a look at this page for the pinout for the Port-3 on my BD801s, should be same for your PJ.

    http://www.cosmic023.demon.co.uk/AV-Stuff/Barco.htm

    Hope that helps ?? I use a Port-3 to HD-15 VGA cable, i'm very happy with it.

    Cheers
    Cosmic023
     
  4. ralphot

    ralphot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi James, thanks, but there are only 4 BNC connectors, the sync should be combined
    and I have such a cable on it's way.

    But I beleive Cosmic023 with that layout, exactly what I needed, thanks!

    I will compare the two methods of inputting signals and see what's best.

    By the way, I was recommended to use the Powerstrip program to acheive linedoubling, how do I configure the program to do that? It's not obvious
    when you look at all the possibilities within the program.

    Thanks a lot guys!

    Ralph
     
  5. cosmic023

    cosmic023
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +88
    Hi Ralph,

    Glad that little nugget of info was of use to you....

    As for the powerstrip program, a good start guide is here.......
    http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/powerstrip.html

    I'm currently using 800x600@75hz on my PJ for PAL material. Gonna have a try with the default DVD rez of 720x576 and a refresh rate of 50hz. (I've heard so much about it, and people state it's better than 75hz ?? I was worried about flicker, but i'll give it a go and see what happens)

    So i'd try 720x576@50hz for Pal Material and 720x480@48hz for NTSC material as a starting point. Not really knowing what the best rez/ refresh rate is for your PJ, i'm sure someone will chime in with an answer.)

    Do a search in the "CRT" & "HTPC/Computer" forums, i'm sure you'll find some helpful tips there.

    Cheers
    Cosmic023
     
  6. ralphot

    ralphot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Beleave it or not, I took a scart-contact, soldered a coax cable
    to the video out and gnd with a BNC at the other end, plugged
    it into the video input on the BD 600 - plugged the scart back
    on the dvd-player and guess what?

    PICTURE!

    I got a perfect movie picture on my projector. It is just temporary
    setup with a small screen but it WORKS!

    I am really happy with this bargain, £ 50 for the projector!

    :thumbsup: :clap: :thumbsup: :clap:

    I'm getting the cable next week for the HTPC buildup.

    Have a nice weekend guys!

    Ralph
     
  7. Prehjan

    Prehjan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    great deal...
    paif 400 bucks fo rmine...(us)
    and seems to be in good shape...
    although i still havent made a tabel for it..
    still reading on specs and precedures..
    i beliuve that 720x480@48hz for NTSC shoudl be good for me to...thats the one i ll try first...
    thanks
    MArtin
     
  8. ralphot

    ralphot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi! But yours was also a great deal! Congrats!

    I wish you good luck with your home cinema. The BD 600 seems to be a great projector dispite the analog convergence.

    CUL,

    Ralph SM6BJJ
     

Share This Page

Loading...