VGA Cable - 360 on LCD TV

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by alex.hulme, Aug 12, 2006.

  1. alex.hulme

    alex.hulme
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I want to rack your brains and have looked everywhere for an answer.

    I'm currently going into a lcd tv using the scart lead from a 360 - the lcd's resolution max is 1280 x 768.

    I want to be able to get a better picture and want to buy the MS VGA cable.

    Is this VGA cable going to provide a better picture - will it be high definition?

    It's not a TFT LCD, it's just LCD TV with a 16ms response time if that helps atall.

    Any advice much appreciated.

    Alex
     
  2. DragonOfSilver

    DragonOfSilver
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +73
    if its an lcd, its a tft, in general every common lcd nowadays is.

    it will be proper HD, and should look miles better than scart.
     
  3. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,757
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +9,091
    Well if you're using a scart lead then you aren't even outputting in HD so connecting via VGA and setting it to 1280x768 will be a HUGE improvement! Do it asap
     
  4. alex.hulme

    alex.hulme
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great thanks for the responses. Its always good to come here for the great support! :thumbsup:
     
  5. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    Bin the scart, get the vga and the difference really is unbelievable.:thumbsup:

    Amazing what a difference a lead can make.:eek:
     
  6. alex.hulme

    alex.hulme
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does it matter which VGA cable I use - seen a couple on eBay going quite cheap but not the original microsoft ones.

    Is there any difference between the cheaper versions and the branded cables?
     
  7. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    I've ordered a Joytech VGA & digital audio cable from Play.com. I'll report back here what the results are like on a 19" TFT.
     
  8. SheldonLavine

    SheldonLavine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +16
    the MS vga cable is highly regarded.

    I noticed a significant improvement over the generic one i initially purchased
     
  9. swanny78

    swanny78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Matlock
    Ratings:
    +66
    I currently use the component cable that comes in the Premium box, is it worth swapping that for the VGA cable, are there any benefits?

    UPDATE- SORRY Ignore post I should read the sticky
     
  10. imcarm

    imcarm
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Depends if you are happy with the picture.. I tried component but didn't like the results as everything on screen lacked shaprness, tried VGA and now refuse to go back to component. VGA is so much sharper, my only gripe is that the colours do seem a little dull in comparison with component.
     
  11. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    Joytech cable tested on a Neovo F419 monitor @ 1280 x 1024

    Nice picture but a slight bit of colour banding noticeable on black screens. This is more than likely down to the huge nest of cables the new one was sat on. To be honest I prefer the 480p picture on my 32" TV but that's hardly a surprise.
     
  12. alex.hulme

    alex.hulme
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ended up using a MadCatz VGA cable as it was the only one I could find and the picture is excellent. Much better than the advanced scart lead or any other cable i've used in the past. :smashin:
     
  13. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    What size is the screen Alex?
     
  14. alex.hulme

    alex.hulme
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's only a 23"
     
  15. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    22,757
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +9,091
    I got a VGA cable yesterday, connected up to a Hyundai Q321, bloody hell it looks fantastic! Just one irritation though, video playback is pretty jerky. I played a WMVHD clip and pans weren't smooth at all, never noticed that with component. Does anyone know why this happens and can it be fixed?

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice