1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Very urgent

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Jed, Nov 18, 2003.

  1. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +34
    Cannot get any antivirus or firewall's running on my PC.

    As soon as i try to install them they dissapear.

    I have formatted and reinstalled XP twice today to try and sort it but nowt,.

    Any ideas.

    Jed.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    norton CD allows you to run antivirus in DOS I think before installing (removing any old viruses around) try booting with Norton CD if you have one.
     
  3. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really unusual after a full format/clean install :confused:

    Only suggestion is to disconnect cable modem/dsl/lan during the install - ensure nothing spurious gets on there before the anti-virus software etc..

    :smoke:
     
  4. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +34
    Thanks for your help guys.

    Kramer i am not very computer litarate.Should i formatt my other drive's aswell.Could there be something hiding there.

    Last night is when all this started.It would not let me get in to my Nochex & Paypal accounts.Kept saying something about privacy.

    I was thinking about disconnecting the cable aswell.Might try that later.

    I await your reply. :)
    See i got a hold of you now,and you'll never get out. :devil:
     
  5. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +34
    hornydragon....I got a dodgy Norton on with other stuff.I doubt it would boot :(

    Jed
     
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    Try AVG ( antivirus, free for home use)
    ZoneAlarm ( firewall free for home use).

    worked very well for me over the years.
     
  7. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,908
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +34
    Yeah i used to have them myself but i cannot load any on.They keep shutting themselves off :(
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    get a proper norton mate that will sort you out! a 24hr supermarket might ave one!
     

Share This Page

Loading...