Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Very urgent

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Jed, Nov 18, 2003.

  1. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +35
    Cannot get any antivirus or firewall's running on my PC.

    As soon as i try to install them they dissapear.

    I have formatted and reinstalled XP twice today to try and sort it but nowt,.

    Any ideas.

    Jed.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    norton CD allows you to run antivirus in DOS I think before installing (removing any old viruses around) try booting with Norton CD if you have one.
     
  3. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really unusual after a full format/clean install :confused:

    Only suggestion is to disconnect cable modem/dsl/lan during the install - ensure nothing spurious gets on there before the anti-virus software etc..

    :smoke:
     
  4. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +35
    Thanks for your help guys.

    Kramer i am not very computer litarate.Should i formatt my other drive's aswell.Could there be something hiding there.

    Last night is when all this started.It would not let me get in to my Nochex & Paypal accounts.Kept saying something about privacy.

    I was thinking about disconnecting the cable aswell.Might try that later.

    I await your reply. :)
    See i got a hold of you now,and you'll never get out. :devil:
     
  5. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +35
    hornydragon....I got a dodgy Norton on with other stuff.I doubt it would boot :(

    Jed
     
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,209
    Try AVG ( antivirus, free for home use)
    ZoneAlarm ( firewall free for home use).

    worked very well for me over the years.
     
  7. Jed

    Jed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +35
    Yeah i used to have them myself but i cannot load any on.They keep shutting themselves off :(
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    get a proper norton mate that will sort you out! a 24hr supermarket might ave one!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice