Very Unhappy Existing Customer

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by markmc2k9, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. markmc2k9

    markmc2k9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +120
    I am just off the phone to Sky quite angry and disappointed. Do they actually care about existing customers? My HD box decided to break down last night after 13 happy months, I was quite gutted because I have some recordings on it which I didn't want to lose but hey these things happen.

    Anyway I have 6 mixes + Sports & Movies, as well as their Broadband max service while paying their £10 a month HD charge. I see that they are offering HD boxes as low as £29 these days and although not expecting it to be that low I was expecting a decent deal. I was horrified when they quoted me £260 for box and install! I swiftly told them where they can stick it and cancelled my HD subscription which was tough to do.

    Surely the best they can do for existing customers has to be better than £260?
     
  2. GasDad

    GasDad
    Remembered (1964-2012)

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +758
    Did you ask simply them to fix your box - which presumably would have been £69-00.
     
  3. drphibes

    drphibes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    Yes I was under the impression that if your box dies out of warranty they will give you a refurb for £69 ? Maybe they would get you to agree to a new 12 month contract or something like that, I would call them back and see if you get any joy with a different person.
     
  4. Sephiroth0000

    Sephiroth0000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,054
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    Ratings:
    +81
    If you have cancelled your HD subscription then just get the misses to apply for SkyHD in her name instead of yours and you should get the HD box for £49 and an install charge of £30 or something (might even be able to waver it if you have a nice customer representive on the other end). Problem solved.

    Oh and with regards to your programmes lost that does not have to be an issue as you can move the programmes from the old SkyHD HDD to a new one:D (please refer to the forums for more information)
     
  5. Broadz

    Broadz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    8,697
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,423
    As long as she has a different surname and different bank account to you.
     
  6. markmc2k9

    markmc2k9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +120
    Thanks for all your comments guys they are extremely helpful. She specifically asked me if it was in warranty and when I replied no she quickly suggested another machine (Which I thought would be the most cost effective option anyway), no suggestion of a £69 refurb just straight on about this ridiculous £260 for a new box.

    When they transferred me through to cancel my sub I also mentioned again I am eager to stay paying my £10 a month for a fair price but again no leverage and they were quite cutting about cancelling it. I think I might give them a call again. Sadly thought everyone in my home has the same sir name so creating a new account is a no go.

    Sephiroth0000 I had no idea that was possible! I am certainly going to look into that!

    P.S. My box is stuck on the red light and completely refuses to go on, there is no sound of the harddrive spinning either. Am I right in thinking that it is completely dead.
     
  7. derek500

    derek500
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,749
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +497
    Sounds like HDD failure to me. Same symptoms as my previous sky+ box. It's not too difficult to fit a new one.

    I put it down to overheating as my Sky+ box was stacked in a hi-fi cupboard.

    I've had my Sky HD box on an open shelf since new, I have even put it on 2" stilts. Never any problems.
     
  8. markmc2k9

    markmc2k9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +120
    Probably a good call, just got a new Yamaha amp which my HD box is sitting right on to of. Looks like all my recordings in definitly gone then. :(
     
  9. GasDad

    GasDad
    Remembered (1964-2012)

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +758
    Basically what happens when you phone sky - depends who answers the phone. Judging by the stories on here, you'd think the number went through to a phone box in Paddington, and the girl sticking her number up, was the one who gave you help and advice.

    What should happen is:

    Your sky setup isn't working.

    You phone sky

    If you're in warranty they come and fix or replace your box, dish cabling, remove the birds nest from the dish and basically do whatever it takes to get you going again.

    If you're not in warranty they come and fix or replace your box, dish cabling, remove the birds nest from the dish and basically do whatever it takes to get you going again, except you have to pay £69.

    You wouldn't necessarily end up with a refurb box either.

    Incidentally a lot of people moaning about the installation charge on HD boxes (to replace their existing sky+'s), don't seem to realise that the charge, also gives you the 12 month warranty above.

    Phone them up and get it fixed.


    Good Luck

    James
     
  10. kenedin

    kenedin
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +312
    Probably too late now, but if your digibox is still sitting atop your amp, I'd unplug it, remove it to somewhere else, let it cool down for a couple of hours, then try again.
     
  11. jwball

    jwball
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    What you should say is that the equipment sky have provided you is not fit for it's purpose and that they should replace it free of charge.
    Read this quote from your consumer rights

    "You can ask for a repair or replacement at any time up to six years after you bought the goods (five years in Scotland), as long as it is reasonable for them to have lasted this long. If the goods go wrong after six years (or five in Scotland), you no longer have the right to ask for a repair or replacement."
     
  12. SHATNERSTACTIC

    SHATNERSTACTIC
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +590
    I thought the procedure for this was exactly as GasDad has suggested in his post. Have Sky recently changed their policy on broken boxes? You have me worried as I have a Thomson time bomb myself... £260 to replace is outrageous! :eek:

    OP could attempt to fix the box himself, if the problem can be diagnosed. The PSU and HDD are relatively easy to swap out if it is one of the usual suspects causing this problem. It would also be an opportunity to upgrade to a 1TB drive at the same time.:smashin:
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2009
  13. I remember when

    I remember when
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +9
    Had similar symptoms on my 19 month old Thompson HD last week stuck in standby non responsive but also had 1 section of the blue lit no fan or hard drive activity when unplugged then plugged in

    phoned sky who started by trying to get me to have the yearly cover plan once I turned that down explaining cannot justify paying that type of money as I hardly watch that much they offered a free callout but a lot depends as others have said on who answers the phone

    guy came with I assume new Amstrad box at the weekend broke the seal on the cardboard box and tipped the cables out and remote and said some freebies for you also changed the dish and lnb for a free callout was well impressed so far the new box is working great :thumbsup:
     
  14. wednesday83

    wednesday83
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +22
    Email in to complaints and state you are unhappy that sky are offering boxes at £49 to any tom dick and harry except existing Hd customers. Explain you cancel the lot unless you get the box @ £49.99.

    My feeling is you will probably get it. Downside is youll have to wait a week or so for a response.
     
  15. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    as other folks have said you should call them again and they should offer to send an engineer out and it should only cost £65, you can even get this for free if you push hard enough, also you should never sit anything on top of your amp as they put a fair amount of heat out as does the hd box and sitting your box on the amp isnt a good idea.
     
  16. Bobba

    Bobba
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Exactly!
     
  17. tapzilla2k

    tapzilla2k
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,580
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +2,810
    I went through the online complaints system, got a phonecall from Sky and ended up with a free service call and a refurb replacement for my self installed SkyHD box (which is not bad going, given how Sky usually are about this sort of thing). I basically complained about the lack of regard for customers who are loyal and adopt new technology and are then left out in the cold when Sky push that technology to it's wider customer base after the major kinks have been worked out. My main arguement was that i would cancel my Sky subscription as it would work out cheaper than having to buy a new Sky+HD box in the long run. You just have to be firm but civil when dealing with Sky customer services, the online complaints system seems to be the best of way of doing so for me at least.
     
  18. Fazzbhoy

    Fazzbhoy
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kilwinning
    Ratings:
    +3
    Guys, sorry to jump in here, but I am in a similar situation. I phoned Sky and threatened to cancel if they would not give me the HD box for £49 (have original day 1 thompson HD box downstairs and sky plus upstairs - was looking to upgrade sky plus upstairs to HD). No joy - despite two calls and two threats they would have cancelled me there and then - I stated 'I was angry and wanted time to think'. To cut the rest of this long story short my partner and I live in the same house with different surnames - do I understand right that all I need to do here is actually cancel (partners name) then re-subscribe under my name to get the £49 deal? If so what happens to our exisiting boxes? Will they still work or need to be repaired after we re-join? Any help appreciated.
     
  19. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,633
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,304
    never a good idea
     
  20. mudstuff

    mudstuff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    3,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +412
    If you have the space (about 5cm) you could get something like an Antec Veris cooler. This sits on top of your amp and has 2 fans on the underside which cool it. you can then put the sky box on top of it. ;)
     
  21. The Captain

    The Captain
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,092
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +17
    I had the same issue....called up and threatened to cancel....and did cancel, however I will call up within 30 days and cancel my Cancellation.......hoping they may call back and give me the offer.
     
  22. Khayaletu

    Khayaletu
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Thompson box records OK but sticks regularly when you play back.
    It is 13 months old and was installed by an independent.
    He says that the cost of repair will be £105 - (gets sent to Poland !) and about 10 days.
    He suggests that I contact Sky and suggest I am going to transfer to Virgin to see if i get a reaction.
    Has anyone had similar problems ?
     
  23. GasDad

    GasDad
    Remembered (1964-2012)

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +758
    Phone up sky and tell them you want your sky box repaired - they will come and do it for 65 quid. It doesn't matter where it came from, it is still a sky box.

    Why make life complicated ?

    If you are a long term subscriber, you may well be able to get this price down.

    (I thought and posted it was 69quid earlier in the thread - stand corrected :) )
     
  24. WillieCocker

    WillieCocker
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland.
    Ratings:
    +111
    I have had 3 thompson boxes die on me, first two under warranty, third with a 1TB hdd was out of warranty, so i went the SatCure route, haven't looked back since.:thumbsup:
     
  25. stockyvillage

    stockyvillage
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    liverpool
    Ratings:
    +91
    You should contact trading standards.This 12 month guarantee is a load of cobblers.If the cost of the BOX is actually £399 as Sky say.To break down after 13 months is not acceptable under the sale of goods act.I had a problem with a Samsung Tv that broke down after 13 months.It was repaired free of charge after trading standards contacted Samsung
     
  26. GasDad

    GasDad
    Remembered (1964-2012)

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +758
    Indeed - bag of capacitors installed about 12 months ago - not one problem since.

    But not everyone wants to do that - but what everyone should know is that sky will fix their system for a fixed fee of £65. (which may be reduced if you talk nicely to them)
     
  27. markmc2k9

    markmc2k9
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +120
    Thanks guys for all your suggestions most of which I wasn't aware of. So I phoned them up last night and asked them about the £65 repair which they confirmed. As mentioned earlier in this thread they will replace with a reconditioned box if the damage in irreparable. Sounds like a decent enough price to me but I didn't bring up the subsidised prices of the boxes they are giving away to new customers and asked them do the company actually value loyalty. I want to send them a email on the my thoughts but there 1000 characters wasn't good enough for me so I have popped a letter in the post just to make me feel better, it is complete with the consumer rights quote.

    I will look into repairing it myself but more than likely I will pay the £65 and get a repair job done so thanks to everyone who mentioned that.
     
  28. deanos

    deanos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,010
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +126

    Dosent matter if its the same surname and bank account
     
  29. paulmapp8306

    paulmapp8306
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    doesnt matter if its the same address or name either !!

    Had a friend who wanted to upgrade from sky to sky+. The account was in his name. His wife phoned and said her husband was leaving here, and it needed installing under her details.

    They said they'd have to do it as a new customer :thumbsup: so she get the box plus installation same as any other jo off the street.

    Same adress, same (joint) bank account, same surname !!!!!!
     
  30. sikejsudjek

    sikejsudjek
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Don't continue to phone them. Send a registered letter to Sky's head office. State that the goods were not fit for purpose and you want a free replacement. State that you intend to go to the small claims court. If the failure is due to the poor power supply, you could search these threads and use the numerous complaints as evidence of a manufacturing fault.

    Now do you think Sky would want that to appear in the press ? :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...