1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

very quick query...

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Mr Cat, Jun 21, 2004.

  1. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    is this months what(s) hifi sound and vision there is an advert towards the back for a cable and component company that sounds like letropak...???
    I forget the exact name...but does anyone know the url for them..??

    they're afvertising a nice 16 in 1 remote control for 99 quid...I just want to check this out further...

    cheers!

    :thumbsup:
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
  3. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    cheers Ian - thats spot on!
     
  4. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
  5. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Transferring to the Remote Control forum where you are more likely to get a response
     
  6. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    I'm thinking about buying the Kameleon 8 in 1 - does anyone have any views on this..???

    will it handle all of my kit..?

    cheers
     
  7. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
  8. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    Hi,
    I got this yesterday - I had a quick look at it last night, it seems ok, bit flimsy perhaps...but it doesn't seem to support my NAD c350 amp, and my Eltax a12r subwoofer too....I've e-mailed tham and am waiting for a response...

    but the manual does say that they don't support products that are made outside of the US, canada etc... :rolleyes:
     
  9. Ishlin

    Ishlin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    but the manual does say that they don't support products that are made outside of the US, canada etc...

    Yup, if you bought it from America, there's a big risk that European devices won't be in the code database. Maybe the manifacturer can help, otherwise you could perhaps go the JP1 route (big topic, read more about it at remotecentral and here: http://www.hifi-remote.com/jp1/index.shtml )

    As for the 16-device remote you first mentioned, I've seen a couple of reviews saying it has good build quality, is easy to set up and can handle pretty much any system - then it's a matter of personal taste if you like touchscreen and the size of it.
     
  10. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    well, for an update...I've managed to get my sub working - didn't have thye code, but it sorked through the learning process...!

    as for my nad I've got an e-mail back from them saying that they've got some codes - if gthey don't work on my remote, then I should ring their tech support up and I can download it...sounds promising tho!

    as for the actual remote itself - it's fairly cool, the only annoyance is that since when you pick it up it lights up, but also if its on the sofa etc and there is some vibration, it has the tendancy to light up too!
     
  11. Mr Cat

    Mr Cat
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Weardale
    Ratings:
    +57
    cheers for that too...I've had a look at the site and I'm invesigating the JP1 route...!
     
  12. Ishlin

    Ishlin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    A lot of people have said the same thing and it makes battery life really short. Somebody posted at remotecentral (either in the forums or in the user review section, don't remember which) that if you're handy, you can open it up and cut a certain wire. That de-activates the vibration sensor so it will only light up if you touch the front.
     

Share This Page

Loading...