Very basic amplifier and speakers question

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Burnley_Lad, Jan 11, 2008.

1. Burnley_Lad

Burnley_Lad

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +15
    I'm extremely new to the world of home cinema set up, and have what I feel will be a very basic question to a lot of people!

I have a Sony 40" LCD Full HD television, with Sky HD and a Pioneer DV600-AV DVD player.

I want to add surround speakers to my set up - what should I be looking for?

I am right in thinking I need an amplifier with speakers? Where does the amplifier plug into?

Also, do I buy an amplifier and speakers separate, or do they normally come as a package?

Sorry for all the questions!

2. happhhitachi

happhhitachi

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +22
    1)Whatever you buy I always think its worth having half an eye on what you will upgrade next. Basicly dont box yourself into a corner and limit the options. Sorry its not possible to be more specific but you dont offer any indication as to budget.

2) Yes. The ideal entry point is a 5.1 speaker system. The 5 is the front effect speakers: Centre speaker and rear effects speakers. The .1 is a subwoofer.

Some Amps will offer video switching and upscaling but the most basic level is to just connect the audio. Normally this is done via either an optical cable (sometimes refered to as a Toshlink) or by digital Coax. The easy option is the optical cable. Others may disagree but just buy a cheap optical cable, a £5 one should be fine. Coax is another story...

The speakers then connect directly to the Amp - if budget is tight go to RS and get the cheap Gale cable at 69p/m. For a Sub you will need a phono to phono cable. If budget allows and you have short runs to the 3xfront speakers get the batter Gale cable, Gale 400 is £2/m. The fronts do almost all the work.