1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vertical Banding on AE500?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Clint C, Jan 20, 2004.

  1. Clint C

    Clint C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wiltshire UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've had a quick look over at AVSFORUM to find out about people's experiences with the AE500 and a common problem that keeps occuring is to do with Vertical Banding. Has anyone over here experienced this? Do we know if it does exist here whether there's a cure?

    Thanks in advance.

    Clint.
     
  2. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a panel issue & as such, common to the Z2, AE500 & TW200 - all use the same Epson panels.

    Have seen it on the Z2 (quite pronounced :(). Many say it can be reduced by service/factory menu tweaks on the Z2 but I've not come across any info on similiar with the Panasonic or Epson.

    Bit of a personal bugbear of mine - can't stand it, so I won't be rushing out to buy any of those models :D

    HTH.
     
  3. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    I will be keeping my AE300 then, which, to me, has had a bigger comeback than Gazza.

    Have to say most pleased with it since buying a different DVD deck.

    Watched Charlies Angels 2 again on sat night and even Mrs. Benefit commented on how great the picture was. When the angels went to the convent in search of the thin man, the blue colour of the robes they wore looked superb.

    Currently watching two espisodes of CSI: Season 1 every night at the mo.

    Cap:)
     
  4. Clint C

    Clint C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wiltshire UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers Kramer. Is this the same/similar VB that Messiah was suffering from with his TW100 which made him get rid of it? From memory I remember not everyone had that problem... c'mon guys I'm trying to get off the fence here. :confused:

    Is the general concensus of opinion that the AE300 is better then for an overall picture than the AE500? Or is it just affecting some of the AE500 units? :confused: :confused: i.e. Is there a chance that I would get lucky and get an AE500 that doesn't have the problem?
     
  5. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +557
    bought my Tosh MT1 coming on for 3 years ago now and still very happy with it.It had some VB issues that were largley dealt with by going over to HTPC. I can't believe that with 3 years later and with all this development going on they still cannot produce an LCD projector without VBs .

    Have had the odd thought about upgrading but until VBs are totally got rid of cannot see the point as its the only thing that bothers me about my current pj.
     
  6. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +557
    nb i cannot get a DLP because I see Rainbows and the occasional
    Leprechaun burying his gold at the end of them!!
     
  7. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not at avs..... there is alot of this sort of talk about the place but the crux of it is that there are a load of people with new machines and everyone is posting on every aspect, we have long forgotten the same conversations with the older machines so it seems like endless problems with the new ones! I strongly doubt panasonic (or anyone) is going to send out a new model which is inferior to the old.

    What i do say though is that sanyo (for instance) seem to have sent the Z2 out without really being ready, it is undoubtedly great, but it takes work which my feeling is, should have been done by sanyo, not me.

    ad
     
  8. docfeelgood

    docfeelgood
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    237
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Buy a Sony HS20.

    nuff said

    :)

    Doc
     
  9. DVDcake

    DVDcake
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Invading Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    Do Sony make their own LCD panels for the HS20?
     
  10. Clint C

    Clint C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wiltshire UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sooo, from what Kramer says the VB should be affecting the Z2 also?!

    buns have you noticed VB on your machine at all? If it used to be there have you managed to get rid of it or just minimise it?

    Clint.
     
  11. docfeelgood

    docfeelgood
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    237
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just my opinion...

    I've seen/demoed panny 300/200, Sony HS20 and quite a few others.

    I own a Z2.

    If I had a panny 300 I would not have upgraded to a Z2/panny 500.

    The difference is not enough to justify the price... and then there's the VB (or whatever you want to call it) which I saw less of on the panny 300.

    However... an upgrade to the HS20... well that's different ;)

    Keep it... it's still one of the best LCD's.

    If you must upgrade... then save a bit more and buy the HS20.... or save even more and buy the Epson TW500 :)

    regards

    Doc
     
  12. docfeelgood

    docfeelgood
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    237
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    ... just to add.

    Don't pay too much attention to the VB thing.

    These forums always tend to exagerate problems because they have more negative/technical posts than positive/nuetral posts from normal Joe public.

    That's not a bad thing as it's a great place to find info and get started.

    Always best to use your own eyes and ears tho.

    The Z2 VB is there... but then so is the 'soft' 'smoothscreen' picture on the panny 300. Which one bugs you the most (if at all) only you can say :)

    regards

    Doc
     
  13. Clint C

    Clint C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Wiltshire UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers guys, this is exactly what I needed to know.

    :smashin:
     
  14. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    this is a point of arguement in some places...... story is that sony have shut down their production of panels, but some say this is a full shut down, some say it is only a cut down and they simply will not OEM to other people.... so hard to know for sure.

    There is VB on my Z2, but its now heavily calibrated and i cant really claim to notice it unless I look. Having returned from a reserch trip last night, I watched monsters ball and didnt see it once. In fact the machine just looked stunning...... it may not be the best machine in the world, but compared to other display devices it isnt half bad

    ad
     
  15. Quatermass

    Quatermass
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, I don’t find the Z2 vb to be intrusive either. It is only there if you look for it (and with Halle Berry on screen I am not surprised you didn’t see it in Monsters Ball buns :D ) and then, seemingly, only on certain (poor quality) dvd’s. The Z2 is a great machine for the £ but you do have to work a bit to milk its potential.
     

Share This Page

Loading...