1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Velodyne SPL series?

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by dunkyboy, Aug 20, 2002.

1. dunkyboy

dunkyboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi, having heard much about the various Velodyne ranges of subwoofers, I went to my local dealer and demo'd an HGS-12. It was pretty impressive (though it wasn't the greatest demo as they were using a POS Naim AV amp with AVI Pro-Nine speakers - great speakers but *far* too revealing to sound decent with that Naim crap). However, the dealer also mentioned Velodyne's SPL series as an alternative to the HGS. I'm a student, so anywhere I can save on budget is a good thing! :)

I haven't heard any mention of the SPL series here, which is a pity, as it seems like it might be an ideal middle-ground between the high end (high priced) HGS's and the low-end CHT's. Before you suggest I buy a CHT, I should probably mention that my primary interest is stereo hifi listening, rather than home cinema, and I am VERY picky about how my bass sounds - it must sound JUST right or I won't be bothered (I have a pair of ATC Active 10's as my main speakers, and their sound is, to my ears, perfect - if I can't get a subwoofer that blends perfectly with them, I'm not going to bother).

So my question was - what do you think of the SPL series, specifically the SPL-1200? How do they compare to the HGS series, how much do they cost, and is there any chance of a Power Buy? Judging by the brochures, it looks to me that the SPL's have very much in common with the HGS', though with a fair bit less amplification and a plain vinyl finish (NOT an issue for me).