VBox Home TV Gateway (XTi 3342) Review

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by Mark Hodgkinson, Nov 5, 2015.


    1. Mark Hodgkinson

      Mark Hodgkinson
      Reviewer & News Writer

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,009
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,398
    2. Trollslayer

      Trollslayer
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Feb 11, 2007
      Messages:
      20,932
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Poole
      Ratings:
      +7,116
      Nice but it doesn't seem to be able to record so limited, how much of a market is there?
      Dual tuner and USB recording would make it much more useful.
       
    3. AJBek

      AJBek
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Aug 13, 2006
      Messages:
      1,009
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      86
      Location:
      Ayrshire
      Ratings:
      +279
      according to their product page there are twin tuners and you can add usb storage for recording.
      Terrestrial
      It is an interesting product. Do you know if the android app works on android tv, such as the new sony models as that would be pretty essential for me.
       
    4. MartinH32

      MartinH32
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      May 6, 2005
      Messages:
      2,237
      Products Owned:
      4
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Castleford
      Ratings:
      +629
      looks more like the sort of alarm clock you'd have on your bedside cabinet
       
      • Funny Funny x 2
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • List
    5. garyc

      garyc
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 21, 2002
      Messages:
      898
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Jersey, Channel Islands
      Ratings:
      +14
      how was it running on the shield tv box? any issues

      would there by any epg issues with freesat channels?

      cheers
       
    6. BrightonChris

      BrightonChris
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Sep 4, 2015
      Messages:
      3,341
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Brighton
      Ratings:
      +2,219
      Can someone explain to me the point of this? You can already watch freeview on any device with a multitude of apps giving you the ability. There's Sky Go and BT Sport for those services. Recording seems a bit pointless these days with most things available on demand. I would I imagine anyone tech savvy enough to bother with something like this would look at it as being a little redundant.
       
    7. RichardWiz

      RichardWiz
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 19, 2015
      Messages:
      73
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +15
      Freesat provides 'now and next' standard DVB EPG, so you will need to use Atlas' free EPG to get full program guide
       
    8. RichardWiz

      RichardWiz
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 19, 2015
      Messages:
      73
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +15
      Both Sky go and iPlayer don't come close to the picture and sound quality of broadcast TV and with this device you get the full quality, also it doesn't use your internet or data plan as it connects to your aerial.

      I have a vbox for almost 6 month and I use it to distribute freeview from one aerial on my roof to all my TVs and mobile devices at home and I also watch offline recordings on the way to work on my tablet.
      They've recently added remote access feature which I use to schedule recordings and watch live TV from work
       
      • Thanks Thanks x 3
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • List
    9. BrightonChris

      BrightonChris
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Sep 4, 2015
      Messages:
      3,341
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Brighton
      Ratings:
      +2,219
      Fair enough. You've done well to find enough worth watching on freeview
       
    10. RichardWiz

      RichardWiz
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 19, 2015
      Messages:
      73
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +15
      My guess is that with freesat it's even compelling as distributing of satellite feed over multiple devices is more complex
       
    11. RichardWiz

      RichardWiz
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 19, 2015
      Messages:
      73
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +15
      I think that the NVIDIA SHIELD TV is an Android TV device so you should be able to use it on the Sony Android TV too
       
    12. invisiblekid

      invisiblekid
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      May 10, 2009
      Messages:
      4,337
      Products Owned:
      4
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +3,232
      The way Mark describes it last week in the podcast I thought this could be connected to a TV directly and this would have been an instant purchase.

      But if it only connects to mobile devices it's completely useless to me. Shame
       
    13. DpM

      DpM
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jul 15, 2003
      Messages:
      4,404
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      High Wycombe, UK
      Ratings:
      +922
      @RichardWiz you say you have it working on all your TV's, could you tell me how your delivering it to these TV's?

      This could be a solution for me if I can make it easy enough for my wife to just turn on the TV and use. Since I binned Sky off she says she misses being able to just put the TV on select channels from the remote.
      I have a Sony W829B so not sure just how well this would work directly to the TV. In my head I see it working like my Synology in that you just select it as a network device but at that point can you then use the TV remote to change the channels on the vbox?

      Thanks
       
    14. Mark Hodgkinson

      Mark Hodgkinson
      Reviewer & News Writer

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,009
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,398
      All that info is in the review - it's dual tuner and can record to USB or to NAS :)
       
    15. Mark Hodgkinson

      Mark Hodgkinson
      Reviewer & News Writer

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,009
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,398
      I can't guarantee it will work on the Sony TVs but it works with the NVIDIA Shield Android TV so it should. The only issue with it is that you need to tap in the IP address of the VBox every time you open the app which you don't on 'lower' Android versions.
       
    16. Mark Hodgkinson

      Mark Hodgkinson
      Reviewer & News Writer

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,009
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,398
      Answers to Shield above Gary. I don't have a dish (and nor does this model accept the connection) but I'll ask the manufacturer for you. I assume the DRM is also on the Freesat EPG but there is a fix coming.
       
    17. Mark Hodgkinson

      Mark Hodgkinson
      Reviewer & News Writer

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,009
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,398
      If you rely on catchup services 100% then there probably is little point. You could just use it as a TV signal distribution device to cut down on wires and it has a couple of other features like being able to download recordings to Android devices and remote access of recordings wherever you have an internet connection that might make it attractive to some.

      Also, as Richard says, the picture quality surpasses iPlayer etc


      It's definitely not for everyone though.
       
    18. Mark Hodgkinson

      Mark Hodgkinson
      Reviewer & News Writer

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,009
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,398
      Not just mobile devices - anything running KODi (hundreds of devices) and Android TV boxes too.
       
    19. Mark Hodgkinson

      Mark Hodgkinson
      Reviewer & News Writer

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,009
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,398
      Nope, it won't work that way sorry. You'll need a device in between to receive the IP feed of the VBox - there are numerous ones that would fit the bill, pretty much all mentioned in the review.
       
    20. DpM

      DpM
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jul 15, 2003
      Messages:
      4,404
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      High Wycombe, UK
      Ratings:
      +922
      Thanks Mark
       
    21. invisiblekid

      invisiblekid
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      May 10, 2009
      Messages:
      4,337
      Products Owned:
      4
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +3,232
      Duh I forgot about Kodi.

      So this does take everything from Sky and you can get it via Kodi?
       
    22. Mark Hodgkinson

      Mark Hodgkinson
      Reviewer & News Writer

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,009
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,398

      I'm sorry ik, I don't really understand the question but it will allow you to access free to air TV via KODI and you can also use KODI for all the PVR functionalities too. Is that what you meant?
       
    23. Trollslayer

      Trollslayer
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Feb 11, 2007
      Messages:
      20,932
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Poole
      Ratings:
      +7,116
      It looks like a good niche product, I hope it does well.
       
    24. garyc

      garyc
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 21, 2002
      Messages:
      898
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Jersey, Channel Islands
      Ratings:
      +14
      thanks Mark
       
    25. del_86

      del_86
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 5, 2004
      Messages:
      591
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Ratings:
      +238
      It might be me being a bit thick :D but am I right in thinking that as it has a dual tuner, you can distribute these 2 signals around your home (unless recording, then it would only be one)??

      I'm looking for an alternative to Media Centre (which I will lose if I upgrade my HTPC to windows 10), so this could potentially be interesting.

      Also, the missus is looking at adding a tv to the kitchen, which is nowhere near an ariel socket and I don't want to start drilling holes in walls and ceilings.
      It would all come down to ease of use I think.

      So could I potentially add kodi on a USB stick for the "new" kitchen tv and it could pick up the signal ok without any more input from me?
       
    26. Trollslayer

      Trollslayer
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Feb 11, 2007
      Messages:
      20,932
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Poole
      Ratings:
      +7,116
      Kodi on a Firestick?
       
    27. Mark Hodgkinson

      Mark Hodgkinson
      Reviewer & News Writer

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,009
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,398

      Yes, you could achieve both those goals del. As Trollslayer says, Fire Stick would do it but make sure it's set to output 50Hz, it will likely default to 60Hz.
       
    28. Mark Hodgkinson

      Mark Hodgkinson
      Reviewer & News Writer

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,009
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,398
      Gary, with Fressat, you get Now and Next data only' to get full EPG data you will have to use the external XMLTV grabber in Kodi or in VBox's upcoming software version. Release date for that is in the next 6 weeks or so.
       
    29. garyc

      garyc
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 21, 2002
      Messages:
      898
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      Jersey, Channel Islands
      Ratings:
      +14
      thx mark will keep an eye on release info
       
    30. RichardWiz

      RichardWiz
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 19, 2015
      Messages:
      73
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +15
      It's very easy to connect to and the VBox apps are working with the TV remote

      I have a UE65H8000 Samsung Smart TV connecting directly to the VBox with the VBox app for Samsung
      A Philips Android powered Smart TV with the VBox android app
      And older TVs with Minix 8 and the VBox Android app (I prefer it over Kodi)

      You can also connect directly to the VBox via UPnP, but you don't get the EPG
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Thanks Thanks x 1
      • List

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice