1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VariVision electrol

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by sanjuro, May 12, 2004.

1. sanjuro

sanjuro

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    Has anyone any experience of these screens ? i really like the idea of the masking/framing, would it be suitable for a Sony VPLHS20 as regards gain/colour/blacks, if not what other screens would be better/more suitable
    I am new to projectors so any help would be great.

http://www.projecta.nl/electric.htm#var

thanks

sanjuro

2. Otto

Otto

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +61
    Hi,

I have seen it and it uses a matte white screen fabric with a Gain of 1. The reverse side of the fabric is black and is used for vertical masking.
    As in all situations with a low gain screen, as long as you can control ambient light, you get the best effect from the set-up.

It will cost you more than your projector though, so it's a very expensive screen. As it only offers the vertical masking + a remote for the extra cost, it's quite a lot of money for just these features.

Hopes this helps,

Otto

3. sanjuro

sanjuro

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks for the reply Otto i have looked at your screens and they seem very good value,but i am a bit confused as to what type of screen gain i would need for a LCD projector what about a grey type ? is this supposed to give a better black level ?

thanks

sanjuro

4. Otto

Otto

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +61
    Hi,

In general, a Gain of 1 to 1.5 is recommended for Home Cinema, depending on projector output and ambient light mainly.