1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

V2 Box

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by raven219, Sep 30, 2004.

  1. raven219

    raven219
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Angular (near Tunisia)
    Ratings:
    +15
    Had the engineer last week to take away my sick V1 box. He left a V2 box instead. Should the fan make that much noise?

    Mind you the menus are so much quicker!

    Raven
     
  2. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    In a word - no!

    I can honestly say I've never heard the fan on my Pace 3100 (v2).

    Get 'em back!

    A. Dork
     
  3. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +721
    Well, I have a V1 and V2.

    The V1 is much quieter, and it was for precisely this reason that I switched the location of the boxes so the V1 didn't intrude on late night listening.

    I don't think your V2 is faulty, but if you been used to a V1 then its hard going back.

    That said, my V2's fan only decided to stay on 24/7 after upgrading the HD to 120G (even though the HD doesn't get hot at all). Prior to changing the HD, sometimes it was quiet but sometimes it was noisey.

    The V1 is always quiet, and only makes a slight hum even when the fan comes on.
     
  4. shoestring25

    shoestring25
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +206
    yes the fan is that loud on the v2 box. mine is
     
  5. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    It's faulty then! :devil:

    Do you watch telly with your ear to it? :D

    A. Dork
     
  6. shoestring25

    shoestring25
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +206
    the fan got louder after the last software update and comes on more often

    yes i can hear it when i sit in my living room without the tele on.
     
  7. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    I can hear the fan on my v2 box if there is no other sound in the room. It's also on all the time which only seems to have happened since the last software update.

    John
     
  8. bigbak

    bigbak
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    When the engineer fitted my box he told me the fan noise was normal and not considered a fault.
    He'd been called out the previous week because of it and the person was charged a £65 call out.

    It's normal. The gubbings needs cooling, and the fan kicks in when it's hot inside.
     

Share This Page

Loading...