V+ HDMI vs Component

Ramspeed

Because Virgin failed to supply me with an HDMI cable I've been using component. Picture quality absolutely excellent. No complaints at all. Is there any reason to use HDMI? Am I missing out on anything?

Like to use my single (!) hdmi for the DVD player...

Passingbat

Distinguished Member
I believe that you may not be able to view some of the VOD content via component due to Digital Rights Management and you would need an HDMI cable. I'm not an expert in this --- just what I've read so someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

Passingbat

Distinguished Member
Just another thought ---- I was told that if you didn't get an HDMI cable when you first got the v+ box, you could ring Virgin and they would send you one in the post.

BTW The one they supplied me was faulty and the picture used to blank out for a couple of seconds every now and then, eventually becoming several minutes. The first enginner said it was the box, swapped it and no change. The second said he had had other people with this problem and it was the cable and recommends they go out and buy one. I changed mine and that fixed the problem.

Meatball

Standard Member
Component is an analog signal while HDMI is digital, therefore HDMI is generally better than Component. If you have the option to use HDMI, I would use it. Most On Demand requires it :)mad: ) and the picture generally is better. Only use component if you don't watch alot of HD on demand :)

Synchronicity

Component is an analog signal while HDMI is digital, therefore HDMI is generally better than Component. If you have the option to use HDMI, I would use it. Most On Demand requires it :)mad: ) and the picture generally is better. Only use component if you don't watch alot of HD on demand :)

Aaaahhh,it all becomes clear now!So this is the reason I could not watch Hard Rain after recording it on BBC HD the other day :(