V+ HDMI & Optical close?

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by Calzor Suzay, Sep 3, 2007.

  1. Calzor Suzay

    Calzor Suzay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +199
    Has anyone else had a problem connecting up both a HDMI cable and an optical link on the back of the V+ box?

    I can't plug the two cables I have in at the same time as they hit each other, the HDMI I bought and the toslink connection I already had.

    Any recommendations on a toslink cable that has a small head so it won't intefere with the HDMI when I try plugging it in?
     
  2. Racquel Darrian

    Racquel Darrian
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +907
    Had the same problem.
    I switched cables to one with a smaller HDMI connection.
     
  3. Yokomo

    Yokomo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    no problems for me, i have a relativley 'beefy' HDMI and Optical cable, although it is tight fit
     
  4. Calzor Suzay

    Calzor Suzay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +199
    I found a toslink to minijack presumably for an old MiniDisc player I had once, that fits fine but obviously the other end is wrong. Local maplins cheap and cheerfull £9.99 one even comes with a chunky connection. I might have to introduce my hacksaw to the HDMI connector at this rate ;)
     
  5. Racquel Darrian

    Racquel Darrian
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +907
    Out of interest I have found the HDMI lead supplied with the V+ box, by VM, is not as wide, at the connector, as my 5 metre one.
     
  6. Calzor Suzay

    Calzor Suzay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +199
    The engineer never gave me a HDMI cable, when they installed it I only had a scart connected TV.

    Think I found what I need here
     

Share This Page

Loading...