• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

V+ dd5.1

macspost

Standard Member
Hi,

I am fairly new to V+ and tried my first on demand HD movie today but was dissapointed to find my amp only showed pro logic instead of proper DD5.1

I called Virgin and was told by some call centre lady that they do not transmit any of their movies, even the HD ones, in 5.1?

Having looked on here though and general google search some people say that you do get HD movies and some BBC HD with DD so I'm a little confused.

Could someone just confirm whether or not any of the V+ on demand HD stuff has proper DD5.1, whether it is only available through the optical or can be picked up via the hdmi, and whether you need to change any settings to get it.

Thanks

bsuttie

Established Member
The HDMI and optical both output the same thing. However if "HDMI audio override" is set to "off" you will only get 5.1 to an HDMI connected amp if your amp correctly handshakes that it is 5.1 capable. If it doesn't do this, or you want 5.1 via the optical when the HDMI is connected to a stereo destination e.g. a TV, then you need to set "HDMI audio override" to "On".
It's in Settings, "Screen and audio settings" if I remember correctly.

regards

Brian

macspost

Standard Member
My amp is an Onkyo 875, it has no problem doing the handshaking to get 5.1 from any other source so I would have assumed it would do it fine from the V+ box? I do have the override set to off at the moment and no optical connection, the only reason I asked about that was because there were some old threads on here that seemed to suggest you could only get the 5.1 on the optical connection.

BikeNutt

Established Member