1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

v.c.d,s on the main t.v

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by ianlecompte, Aug 13, 2003.

  1. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    hi folks,just a quick question.t.v card has a single jack out.what lead do i need to connect to t.v in lounge to watch my video c.d roms? or do i connect to the video.any advice would be helpful.many thanks.:clap:
     
  2. gab2001uk

    gab2001uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    If it is a phono socket (usually yellow), then it is composite video. It can be plugged into composite input if you have one, or SCART via a suitable lead. The audio is taken from the sound card, and can be fed into the SCART with the same lead, or audio phono inputs if fitted.

    If it is multi-pin then it is s-video, and you will need an s-video input on the TV
     
  3. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    thanks gab,thats a greati,ll search for one now,all the best
     
  4. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    i meant to say a great help,thanks again
     
  5. Pack Dude

    Pack Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lost In Space
    Ratings:
    +98
    What TV card are you using? I have three TV cards none of them have a video output just inputs.

    My radeon graphics card has a s-video output which can be used to display the desktop on a telly.
     
  6. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    hi packman,its a wintv32 card it has a vid input/output?
     
  7. Pack Dude

    Pack Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lost In Space
    Ratings:
    +98
    I think wintv32 is the software for the Hauppauge TV cards. Do you have a model number?

    I think you will have to use the video out on your graphics card if it has one.
     
  8. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    dont know the model no.and i,m pretty sure the graphics card does not have a video out,does this mean i cannot do it?thanks for your help
     
  9. Pack Dude

    Pack Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lost In Space
    Ratings:
    +98
    You might be able to find the model of your TV card in windows device manager. Under Sound, video and games controllers.

    What graphics card do your have? Many have an s-video output, a little round black female plug.

    To tell you the truth ive only used the s-video out from my card once it looked okish to me but most people say its pants but for VCD i guess it might be ok.

    I use the VGA out to a projector why dont you buy one :)
     
  10. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    878/9 vfw that is maybe the no.?graphics card is what came with the p.c cant see such a plug
     
  11. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    whats vga out?.i dont think the budget monitor would approve of a projector but yeah great idea,i,m hoping to borrow one soon and build a huge screen with some canvas or such like
     
  12. Pack Dude

    Pack Dude
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lost In Space
    Ratings:
    +98
    If you DONT have any video outputs you can always buy a new graphics card with one.

    Or mabe someone else on the frums has a better idea.

    VGA = Video Graphics Array or the plug on your graphics card that monitor plugs into.
     
  13. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    951
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    thanks packman i,ll look into it
     
  14. gab2001uk

    gab2001uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    All the new TFT TVs coming out now have a TV tuner (analogue), s-video, composite and either SCART or component inputs, plus remote control, and are excellent value. I have just ordered the Relisys 17 inch widescreen for £421 plus carriage:
    http://secure.addonsonline.co.uk/addon/code/products.asp?recid=458&subcatid=32
    Also does picture in picture so you get the best of both worlds, a TV, computer monitor and plug your set-top DVD into the component inputs!
     

Share This Page

Loading...