v+ BOX FAULT??

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by shardsta, Apr 18, 2007.

  1. shardsta

    shardsta
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi
    I have had the box for a fortnight and over that period of time my screen would go blank... the sound would be ok and the miniguide and menus worked fine ..just no tv picture. The randomness has now gone and its permanent:suicide:Just wondered if this had happened to any1 else?

    Shard
     
  2. limblee

    limblee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,155
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Ruislip
    Ratings:
    +235
    I've had the same.

    The fault ? it was my LCD Tv. Turn it off for the usual 10 secs, everything is now funky.
     
  3. shardsta

    shardsta
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +43
    Really never saw it as been the tv as dvd and xbox are fine have to have another play :)
     
  4. Treadstone

    Treadstone

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +46
    I had the same fault some time ago. It turned out to be a faulty HDMI socket on the V+.
    I found if I wiggled the HDMI cable plug about, it would work for a bit, but it eventually failed completely. The only fix was a new box
     
  5. steve tyler

    steve tyler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chigwell,Essex
    Ratings:
    +15
    spot on matey.This is exactly what happened to me,faulty hdmi,and it`s a know problem.
     
  6. steve tyler

    steve tyler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    268
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chigwell,Essex
    Ratings:
    +15
    I should explain that mine was just a faulty hdmi cable and not a box problem
     
  7. tonynev

    tonynev
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    what happens to all these boxes that are sent back, are they repaired
    then sent out to new subscribers. i bought sky+ when it first came out
    so it was always going to be a new box. virgin media have been selling
    their v+boxes for a while now, so judging by the amount of boxes that
    have been sent back some new customers, somewhere are bound to be
    given a refurbished model , i just hope it's me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...