V+ box Can't seem to remove some recordings

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by barnythebear, Jan 9, 2008.

  1. barnythebear

    barnythebear
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1
    I get an error 2056 message when I try to go to some old recordings that won't play. Every time I delete them they seem to come back! Any ideas of how to get rid or will they eventually be recorded over as they are just listings?
     
  2. roygbiv6

    roygbiv6
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +82
    I have this problem too so i'd be interested if there is a solution.
     
  3. Ernie_C

    Ernie_C
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +111
    The only solution to tidy up these recordings that won't delete is to format the disk which removes ALL recordings and series links.
     
  4. Jagsman411

    Jagsman411
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have 13 pages of Recordings which i deleted, but just wont go away. I dont want to format the drive as i have some things on it which i want to keep, i just dont have a DVD recorder yet to do this.
     
  5. leyburn1

    leyburn1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine is doing the same thing. How do I format it? I don't mind if I loose some stuff I have recorded.
     
  6. tankymike

    tankymike
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    wallasey
    Ratings:
    +1
    Press Home
    Press and hold for 5 sees Play/Pause EDO appears on the V+ box display
    Press V+(TV Drive) button and E01 appears on the display
    Press Channel Down (ch -) 4 times HDD4 appears on the display
    (The reference to EDO & E01 appearing refers to the V+ display on the box & not the TV
    screen).
    After you press Channel Down 4 times after HDD4 appears on the display you'll see rFt appear on the display indicating that its reformatting, once its reformatted the V+ box will boot up but once its done that leave it about 10 minutes before entering any series links to allow the EPG to fully load.
     
  7. leyburn1

    leyburn1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that:thumbsup:

    G
     
  8. Captain

    Captain
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +14
    I had the same problem a while back. Contacted Telewest as it was then and they said I would have to format the drive.

    They gave me a few days to backup any programs I wanted to save amd then rang back to talk me through the format.

    Formatting the drive is the only option as far as I know.
     
  9. Glenn Uk

    Glenn Uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Navestock
    Ratings:
    +6
    FWIW

    We have spoken to Virgin re this problem three times since Xmas, basically they have today told us that the problem cannot be fixed properly until a software upgrade towards the end of Jan.

    Formatting the hard drive will apparently only secure a temp fix.

    i havent tried to format our HDD so cannot be sure this is correct (the advice did come from Virgin media so its anyones guess!)

    We also found that not only could we not delete the programme but the time avail bale counter stopped funcitoning correctly too, however after re-setting the box a couple of times the counter has reduced to reflect the stuff we did not delete, but again im not sure what impact this has on the programmes.

    glenn
     
  10. Glenn Uk

    Glenn Uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Navestock
    Ratings:
    +6
    After my intial post I did wonder if anyone had tried this reformat and whether it did affect the desired change?

    If so how long has the change lasted?

    Glenn
     

Share This Page

Loading...