V+ 1080i or 720P

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by STEVIE-BOY-1, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. STEVIE-BOY-1

    STEVIE-BOY-1
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Opinions on above topic please, being used on a 46W.
     
  2. bsuttie

    bsuttie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +206
    On a nice 1920 x 1080 screen like that I would go for 1080i. All HD transmissions are 1080i at the moment so you don't want to go through a 1080i to 720p to 1080 conversion IMO. For SD the V+ upscales very well, again I can't imagine a 576 to 720 to 1080 scaling being better than 576 to 1080 in one go.

    regards

    Brian
     
  3. Sonic67

    Sonic67
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    46,209
    Products Owned:
    12
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +25,198
    I found 720p better for the menus and text but 1080i better for everything else.
     
  4. STEVIE-BOY-1

    STEVIE-BOY-1
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I honestly can say i have tried both and don't see a difference.
     
  5. ScottBT

    ScottBT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +47
    I prefer 720p for everything.
     
  6. junkiepilot

    junkiepilot
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use 720p as the menus are blurry on 1080i
     
  7. gerbilly

    gerbilly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +94
    I use 1080i at full pixel on my Sony KDL40W2000.
     
  8. miltsharman

    miltsharman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +8
    I use 720 as it seems more 'solid'
     
  9. ScottBT

    ScottBT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +47
    Exactly.

    There is no point setting the box to 1080 as it has to downscale to 768 to match the TV so you're better off using 720p.

    I find the progressive is always better than interlaced.
     
  10. Simon J George

    Simon J George
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Theory says that you should choose whatever the native resolution on your TV is. (i.e. if your tv is 1080i [or 1080p] then go 1080i). The reason being simply that there is one less scaling process going on (in the TV).

    However in my experience it is not as simple as that.

    I have two 720p screens, one a projector one a LCD TV.

    On the LCD TV 720p looks great from the TV Drive.

    On the Projector however it looks very soft (it is not the projector per se, as the same projector using the same input makes my 720p DVD look pin sharp)

    I have to use a scalar to sharpen up the image.

    So the answer is - suck it and see. Try theory, but believe your eyes, before you believe the manual.
     
  11. tonynev

    tonynev
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    my tv says 1280x720, can someone tell me what this means. thanks
     
  12. STEVIE-BOY-1

    STEVIE-BOY-1
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Does it downscale to 768 even if the W is 1920x1080?
    Sorry for the Dumbass question.:oops:
     
  13. ScottBT

    ScottBT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    East Kilbride, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +47
    ehh you need 1080i my friend.:thumbsup:
     
  14. JiveTalker

    JiveTalker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    1280x720 means 1280 pixels wide and 720 pixels deep, more commonly known as 720P. This is the same format that most projectors use (most of those uder £3K anyway). It allows a full HD signal (ie 1920x1080 pixels) to be scaled down quite easily. Your V+ box will allow you output in 720P which will allow you to get the best out of your screen.

    HD broadcasts are either 720P or 1080i, but currently almost always 1080i in the UK. The "i" stands for interlaced which means that althought here are 50 pictures broadcast each second each individual frame only contains half a picture (every second line) and 2 frames are combined to make a complete picture, hence only 25 pictures a second. However, 720P broadcasts are progressive "P" frames where each frame contains a whole picture and thus in the UK a 720P signal would have 50 complete frames per second.

    I say "in the UK" because in USA they have different frame rates where 25 and 50 would be replaced by 30 and 60 respectively. However, your tv will almost certainly support both UK and US formats should you ever wish to display US sourced content, perhaps via your pc.
     
  15. andrewilley

    andrewilley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Ratings:
    +92
    I'm in the same situation as the OP of this thread. I'll (soon!) have a V+ box and a 1920x1080p Samsung M87 TV, which I currently plan to connect via HDMI.

    I guess 1080i material is a no brainer in that it should be output at 1080i - but what about upscaling SD material? How does the V+ box upscale a PAL 576i picture to 1080i? As I understand it, upscaling interlaced video looks nasty so most systems convert to progressive first, then upscale, and then re-interlace. Which sounds a bit nasty to me - especially that last step, as the TV has only got to convert it back to progressive again to display it.

    As the V+ box doesn't seem to have a 1080p output mode, might I be better outputting any SD material directly to to the TV as normal PAL 576i, and just letting the TV do all the deinterlacing/upscaling? And can I set the box to do this intelligently (i.e. HD material outputs at 1080i over HDMI, while PAL SD material outputs at 576i, presumably via the RGB SCART)

    It all used to be so simple - colour set or black and white set mate?

    Andre
     
  16. jpow112

    jpow112
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes - but..

    Logie-Baird or Marconi?

    405 or 625 line?

    If there'd been the internet in the 30's can you imagine the usenet wars - the Logie Baird Fanboys vs. the Marconi-Boys..

    That Logie-Baird picture was more warm, and showed much more depth. The Marconi picture was far to bright and shrill.

    And the wood panelling was better finished...
     
  17. bsuttie

    bsuttie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +206
    The V+ box is very good at upscaling SD material, I think you'll find you will end up using 1080i for best quality.

    Only downside is the menus look rather soft, but I for one am not interested in the menus, would rather have the programmes looking their best.

    regards

    Brian
     
  18. Ben

    Ben
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +263
    I would have thought so. Like you say, it's usually better to let one box do all the de-interlacing/upscaling, rather than two - so that leaves the TV, as the V+ doesn't output 1080p (an update for the distant future maybe-?) ;)

    A great idea, but I don't think the V+ can do this intelligently. If you set it to 1080i/720p - it'll output both HD & SD material at that resolution. You can obviously switch between HDMI for HD & RGB SCART for SD in the settings - although, I imagine this might become annoying if Virgin add any more HD channels ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...