Using structured Cat 6 cabling for speaker cable

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by inkinoo, Feb 25, 2014.

  1. inkinoo

    inkinoo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London, England
    Ratings:
    +260
    Does anyone here have experience of using structured Cat6 cabling for speaker cable?

    Basically I have Cat6 run all over my house and now have a need to install some new speakers. I have Cat6 sockets right where I want the speakers but have no experience of using Cat6 for speaker cables.

    Any advice/experience would be appreciated.
     
  2. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,523
    Some 'deluded souls' :) will spend many a happy hour platting multiple runs of CAT cable to form low cost 'high end' speaker cables.

    Using a single CAT cable to deliver power to even a small pair of speaker cables is not ideal.

    You could use the CAT cable to 'network' multiple powered Zone Amps - connected locally to each pair of speakers (assuming you have power/space to accommodate the Zone Amps.

    Joe


    Assured Advertiser - like us on Facebook.

    The Media Factory - Romanno Bridge - Corporate office | Facebook
     
  3. inkinoo

    inkinoo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London, England
    Ratings:
    +260
    Don't have the space for amps. That is part of the issue here; I want to sink my plasma and speakers into the wall but not have the amp underneath.

    When you say not ideal, are we talking you need good hearing to notice the difference or will it be very noticeable?
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,523
    ‘I want to sink my plasma and speakers into the wall’ – be very careful with that plan, PDP’s produce a lot of heat and require decent ventilation, any ventilation scheme will leave more than enough room to include a small format Zone Amp.

    The cross sectional area of a single run of CAT cable used to deliver power to x2 conventional passive Loudspeakers will be a serious limitation in terms of how much power you ca put across the cable.

    Have you considered a ‘networked’ Soundbar such as the SONOS PLAYBAR below each TV (assuming the TV has an Optical Out)?

    Joe
     
  5. inkinoo

    inkinoo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London, England
    Ratings:
    +260
    Thanks for the advice on the ventilation. It's something I've already done in another room, photo below.

    [​IMG]

    The Sonos Playbar is probably going to be the route I go. I have another set of 3x FPM6s and wanted to recreate the room above but don't have the space for the amp. The idea was to have the amp located up in the loft where all the Cat6 terminates.

    I think for the sake of looks, time and effort I will just go down the Sonos route.
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,523
  7. inkinoo

    inkinoo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London, England
    Ratings:
    +260
    Great idea but no access to ceiling. Will go with the playbar as the idea was to utilise my existing av amp plus the cat6 cabling.
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,759
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,523
    PLAYBAR is self powered - there are other options if you had Loudspeaker cables in place which have the Front LCR speakers in a single 'soundbar' style cabinet.

    Joe
     
  9. noidea

    noidea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +123
    Just seen this, love that set up (but get a harmony remote!)
     
  10. inkinoo

    inkinoo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,356
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London, England
    Ratings:
    +260
    Cheers but I am not a fan of all in one remotes.
     
  11. Philip4242

    Philip4242
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +167
    So you PREFER to juggle SEVEN remotes to control your various items of equipment ?!?

    Or are you unaware of the capabilities of a Harmony remote, which make it FAR more than an 'all in one remote' ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...