Using Sky+ tosupply Projector AND remote TV via Magic Eye. What about "Freesat"?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by pakeen, Oct 2, 2005.

  1. pakeen

    pakeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is intended to supply a Projector and a remote TV (via Magic Eye or Wireless),both from a still to to be installed, High Def Sky+ complete with dish. Can the TV also be supplied with Freesat,using an old Digibox & ood card,from the new dish or will a separate dish be neccessary for the Freesat. Cabling not a proble PS I'm assuming that since the Magic Eye will use RF2, no connection to the Sky+ box will be available. Any advice?help please? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I doubt whether many people will be able to answer your question, since very little is known about the Sky HD box, which is rumoured for release in February 2006.
     
  3. pakeen

    pakeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    Supposing it was just a standard Sky+ installation?
    PS Is the Sky box relevant if you can come straight from the dish
     
  4. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I'm at a bit of a loss understanding you - why should you want to supply both Sky+ and Freesat to the same TV ? The channel line-up on Sky+ covers all the Freesat channels.

    I also don't understand your reference to "coming straight from the dish" ? :confused:
     
  5. pakeen

    pakeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    The purpose of the Freesat to the TV is to enable a TV viewer to watch,say,Corrie,while Sky footie or a Test Match is being watched on the cinema projector screen.
    With regard to the straight from the dish bit, I am presuming that you might be able to run another cable from the dish to the Freesat box dedicated to the TV so that the TV viewer can choose between watching what's coming from the Sky+ box or the Freesat. The projector would only be used for special events.
     
  6. pakeen

    pakeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have just seen your reply in the "Fixing existing box in other room" thread-1045 today. Is this the answer I'm looking for or am I,in my admitted ignorance, missing something?
     
  7. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Hi Pakeen.

    I have the system I think you are on about. I have my Sky+ connected to my Pj in one living room and it is also connected via RF2 to a TV in my second lounge. Now in my second lounge I also have the TV connected to a second Sky digibox (freeview). So basically I (wife) can watch Corrie and all that on freeview and if I want I can watch anything thats on my Sky+ account in this room also. Hope that makes sense :)

    PS I only use the 1 dish. 2 LNB outputs for Sky+ and 1 for freeview.
     
  8. pakeen

    pakeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    What a splendid fellow you are!!
    Just to ensure that I understand-"the Sky man" will fit the dish and two cables down to the Sky+ box & there will still be a spare 'ole,at the dish end, to plug in another cable which would go to the old Sky box. (Please excuse my technical jargon.) Whether the now defunct Sky card will have to be replced by a £20 card from Sky will be a matter of "suck it & see".
    Please say I've got it right-my 'eads beginning to 'urt!
     
  9. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Spot on :thumbsup:

    Bung the Sky installer £20 and see if he will fit the additional cable :smashin:
     
  10. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +309
  11. pakeen

    pakeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks everybody-I think I'm up to speed-of course I'll probably be back! Fair warning!
     

Share This Page

Loading...