Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Using SKY Card to decrypt SKY channels on PC?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by WicKeD, Jun 13, 2004.

  1. WicKeD

    WicKeD
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    In the process of building a HCPC and looking for a decent SAT pci-card that hopefully can be used to decode SKY digital.

    The basis being that other than having a dedicated PCI digibox all the recordings are going to have to be analogue (As in recorded through S-Video) which holds no advantages over VCR to be honest.

    I've been looking at a few products and can't make head nor tail if any of them will accept a SKY viewing card, however this card was speculated to be compatable with them.

    http://www.vboxcomm.com/vbox/SE_2035.pdf

    Can anyone offer me advice on what method is best for recording Sattelite in its digital state, and if at all any can use a SKY viewing card.
     
  2. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, not possible to use a Sky card outside of a digibox so that's a non-starter.

    DVB Viewer & others (DVB Portal etc.) can record the original signal (.ts stream) for FTA sat channels so I'd assume other software will do the same.

    :smoke:
     
  3. WicKeD

    WicKeD
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure this card won't decrypt NDS/Videoguard?

    http://www.vboxcomm.com/news_specific.asp?id=40

    According to that it looks like the two companies made a deal.. :confused:


    "... Combining NDS's MediaStorm™ and MediaStorm TV™™ secure datacasting applications with VBox's Satellite Express™ 2035 DVB satellite-to-PC receiver board, the partnership will initially deliver native MPEG-2 digital television, secured with NDS's VideoGuard conditional access (CA), to PC users over satellite, cable or terrestrial infrastructures."
     
  4. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well that was from 08/04/2002.

    Nope, Sky have not & likely will never allow "open" access to their encryption methods. Hence the only way is via a digibox.

    TBH, Sky+ is pretty good anyway & then RGB to Sweetspot etc...

    :smoke:
     
  5. WicKeD

    WicKeD
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aye, your probably right, seems theres very little information out there about the card, and besides they're hard to get hold of $525 on some canadian site was the only place I saw one, seems too expensive to have confirmed you was right :p

    Anyway cheers for the heads up on the Sweetspot looks like a nice card that might clear up my doubts with analogue recording :smashin:
     
  6. oreoboy13

    oreoboy13
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    how about an Sdi mod to your sky box?
     
  7. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,034
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +149
    "how about an Sdi mod to your sky box?"

    Funny you should ask that. Buns has had it done, maybe he'll post on the results?

    I called the guy at Frontniche about the mod to get quotes. He advised that unless the SDI from the box goes straight to an SDI input on a suitably modded plasma screen then don't bother. Feeding it into a PC with a SDI capture card then onto the plasma even via DVI (which was my plan and is what I do with my modded DVD player) was too little an improvement over a straight analogue out from the box to justify the cost (about £1350 for Sky+ including a V1 box). Fair play on his honesty.

    The plugged in TV guys will do a much cheaper mod but you have to find your own box.

    So comments from someone who has already done it would be most welcome :smashin:
     
  8. Madders

    Madders
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,666
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +62
    Just had my Version 1 Sky+ box modded, however the SDI input card I bought (Blackmagic-Design Decklink) has issues with its Directshow driver in Dscaler (invalid overlay) :( I have got it working in VLC but can't seem to get any deinterlacing to work with it, although only had a quick play yesterday.

    Any help greatly appreciated!! Oh and it's going from my HTPC via DVI to my Panny 6 at native 852x480 resolution :D

    Cheers,

    Steve
     
  9. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,034
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +149
    Sorry mate, don't know of that card. I'm using the PMS card bought through the Sweetspot guys and it works a treat with Dscaler.

    The $64 dollar question of course - is the modded Sky better than analogue? Who did the mod?
     
  10. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    So would the Hauppauge DEC3000-S and the common interface not enable you to use your Sky card?? It reads like it does .....

    Common Interface

    DEC 3000 S

    Dave
     
  11. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. A Sky viewing card will only work in a digibox.

    :smoke:
     
  12. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Oh bum :(

    Oh well, Sweetspot it is then :D

    Dave
     
  13. Alex Simon

    Alex Simon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a quick note to say that we should have some pre-modded SDI Sky+ boxes in stock soon. Just drop us an email if you're interested (couple of weeks lead time).
    sales@pluggedin.tv
     
  14. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    That sounds great but I can't imagine they're going to be cheap :(

    Dave
     
  15. Alex Simon

    Alex Simon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's all relative :)
    Hopefully, people will see the price as 'appropriate' to 'reasonable' :)
     
  16. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Now THATS a good answer :D :smashin:

    Dave
     
  17. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,034
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +149
    Simon

    Have sent an e-mail.
     
  18. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,034
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +149
    Or even Alex - who's this Simon bloke? :rolleyes:
     
  19. Alex Simon

    Alex Simon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stop - it's giving me flashbacks to my schooldays! :D
     
  20. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +263
    £400 is reasonable IMO, if Alex can do it for less then it's a bloody bargain. :)
     
  21. Alex Simon

    Alex Simon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    We'd like to have something that was a "bloody bargain" but we might just end up being reasonable :)
    We're finalising the details of the package at the moment and hopefully will post in the power buys section of the forum as well as on here.
     
  22. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,034
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +149
    So you were called by your surname at school - must have been a posh school.
     
  23. Alex Simon

    Alex Simon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh yes, all rugby and cricket!
     
  24. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Ooooh £400, I was expecting MUCH more than that :)

    Dave
     
  25. Alex Simon

    Alex Simon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hang on! It was Jeff that said £400 :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice