Using Shellys 2.5s locally only (i.e. non-cloud)

johnieutah

I am new to Shelly and home automation in general.

I've recently purchased some Shelly 2.5s to control my window blinds. Installed one and everything works fine. However, I can't work out how to use them locally only and still make use of the Shelly app.

Maybe I have misunderstood something here, but in all of the documentation and instructions, it does state that they can be used locally by simply deactivating the cloud option. However then I am unable to use the app - "device offline" it states - and then only the web-interface through the IP address works. I need this to be wife friendly, and I want to install a load of them, so access through the app is key.

Does anyone have a definitive answer here?

johnieutah

Thanks for the reply.

So you disabled cloud access from within the device settings page in the app? - when I do this I then just get device offline, and then I basically can't do anything. I am on the same network for sure... can access it directly through its IP address. Maybe something to do 2.4ghz/5Ghz from my Ubiquiti gear...

Cheers.

Seb Briggs

Yes, disabled in the app

You are probably right with the Ubiquiti issue, as just tested with my phone connected to my upstairs 2.4/5Ghz AP, whereas the module is downstairs connected to a 2.4Ghz only AP.

When i tested it earlier i was connected to the 2.4Ghz AP

Seb Briggs

You would have to create a separate 2.4Ghz SSID for Shelly and make sure your phone(s) connect to this, or use cloud access

Fabien

Try setting static IP address on Shelly but with no gateway details. Outside of dhcp range bit within the same private subnetting

Fabien

johnieutah

Thanks for the replies. I will play around with it this weekend.

Just need to make everything works as expected before I go ahead and install the other 7.