Using powered speakers with an amplifier

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by adampriestley, Apr 22, 2007.

  1. adampriestley

    adampriestley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,
    I currently use a set of acoustic energy aego m speakers, i have a toshiba sd260e dvd player, an onkyo asd2 ipod dock and a freeview box that i would like to be heard through the speakers. The speakers are internally powered and have a built in amp but only one source input. At the moment i just have to switch cables which is annoying and probably not good for the connections/ cables. I am therefore considering getting an amp to connect these three sources to my speakers without the need for switching cables.
    Does anyone know if this is possible? Also, if this is possible can anyone suggest an amp that would suit the job? (budget <£200)
    Any advice more than welcome.
    Thanks.
     
  2. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Yamaha 359, if you can get it (do a search).
    It should be possible :smashin:
     
  3. alphabet

    alphabet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think the 359 has pre-outs and that may be a requirement as the speakers are amplified.
     
  4. visioneer

    visioneer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    How about an input control box? See this one from Maplin. Costs £12.99 + delivery. Should do what you want.


    Four-Way Stereo Audio Switch Box

    A 4-way switch box connecting three stereo pairs of input phono sockets to one stereo output pair for connection to a stereo amplifier. The three phono inputs are labelled 1: CD/MD; 2: TAPE/DAT/DCC; 3: VIDEO SOUND. In addition an AUX input (number 4) is provided as a stereo 3.5mm jack socket. The selector switch is in the form of a 4-way rotary knob labelled 1 to 4, on a sloping front panel.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    You're totally correct :smashin:
    That'll teach me to read properly :)
     
  6. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    dont worry badger, you have your afternoon nap mate ;)

    (not saying your old or nuffin....heh)

    for the OP, yep, you just need a simple switch box setup.....maplin, keene, amazon, a few other sites probably sell various options, you can get some with remotes too....
     
  7. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    :mad: :rolleyes:

    :rotfl: :smashin:

    I nearly had my nap on the M42 this avvy :eek: , but I won't go into it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...