Using my CM9's for new year party??

arambol

Standard Member
Just a few opinions really.......

Brand new B&W CM9's .... should I allow them to be used for my the new year party with laptops/ CD decks.

I have no experience of using them this way so is there any risk of feedback , surge etc or any likely damage from letting my reprobate DJ mates plugging their decks into them?

Should I play safe hire a PA system?

Cheers guys

jason1wood

Don't do it!!!!

PSM1

Distinguished Member
Go the PA route.
Lsst thing you would want is someone knocking them over or putting a glass on them and marking them. Then you have the risk of someone turning the volume up too much and damaging the speakers or running the amps too hard which could cause clipping and again damage to the speakers.
Also home AV speakers are not designed for large rooms with lots of people so if they are not going to be used in your home again I would go for PA equipment designed for the task in hand.

BlueWizard

Distinguished Member
You have to make a choice, do you want to party on New Year's or do you want to spend it babysitting your stereo, because you can't really do both.

That's the first rule of partying, it is always better to party at someone else's house, because it is up to them to worry about the stereo being blow or the furniture being trashed or the kitchen being lit on fire. But, when the party is at your house, it is up to you to worry about those things and more so to keep them under control, unless you don't care about your stereo being blown, your house being trashed, or the kitchen being set on fire.

You have some very expensive equipment, like it or not, if you wish to preserve it, then on New Year's you must spend your time guarding it with your life.

Next how big is the venue? Small club? Big Club? House? etc...?