1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using Marantz remote to control NTL

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by StevieDvd, Feb 18, 2004.

  1. StevieDvd

    StevieDvd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +151
    Has anyone managed to find the correct code to enable the Marantz 5400 Remote to change channels on the NTL Pace DI4001 box (one with blue remote that uses standard remote signals).

    All I want is to be able to change the channel up/down or number.

    Thanks

    Steve
     
  2. MagicBoy

    MagicBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    The Pace Cable boxes use IRDA infrared (like PC's and mobile phones), standard remote controls don't. It won't be possible to use a standard system remote to control the cable box, but it is possible to use an adaptor attached to the box, I believe they're called a Red-Eye.
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Pace 4000 doesnt USE IrDa so Marantz should learn it, My RC1200 did!
     
  4. MagicBoy

    MagicBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    My bad!

    In which case can someone point me in the direction of the code for my Sony STR-DB790 remote?
     
  5. StevieDvd

    StevieDvd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +151
    The remote with the SR5400 does not have learning capability and I have tried the scan code option without much success. The best it does is to send '8' when the power off button is used.

    I know it uses standard remote codes as I was able to program a OneForAll remote to reproduce the NTL remote buttons.

    But the Marantz needs a 4 digit RC5 code (I think that's what it's called).
     

Share This Page

Loading...