Using iPhone 3G as laptop modem !

Discussion in 'iPhone Forum' started by judethedude, Jan 29, 2009.

Tags:
  1. judethedude

    judethedude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +179
    Is there a way of using the iPhone 3G as a modem for a laptop in order to access the internet ?

    Thankyou
     
  2. Jase Winter

    Jase Winter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Tadley
    Ratings:
    +416
    Yes you need a jailbroken iphone and the pdanet application (from cydia), works very well and now supports USB connection rather than having to use a wifi ad hoc network.
     
  3. judethedude

    judethedude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +179
    Thanks for the post Jase Winter.

    Is it just a case of installing the pdanet application and then connecting the laptop to the iPhone using the standard iPhone USB connector or will I need to install software onto the laptop ?

    Thanks again :thumbsup:
     
  4. Jase Winter

    Jase Winter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Tadley
    Ratings:
    +416
  5. judethedude

    judethedude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +179
    Excellent info Jase Winter.

    Laptop now synched with iPhone and browsing the Net !

    Thank You :smashin:
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2009
  6. Jase Winter

    Jase Winter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Tadley
    Ratings:
    +416
    No problem mate, it's a great app, its free for 14 days then you have to pay for the full version, however, I never upgraded and find the free version works fine for the kinda browsing I do (mainly on here and online dvd shops!).
     
  7. gkf9

    gkf9
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    4,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,399
    No Usb connection for Mac..... Bugger!
     
  8. bigdavecox90

    bigdavecox90
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,948
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +53
    I take it this just uses your iPhone's unlimited internet, rather than extra costs incurred?
     
  9. judethedude

    judethedude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Ratings:
    +179
    As far as you mobile network is concerned your browsing the internet with your iPhone so yes, the data used will be part of your inclusive allowance.
     
  10. bigdavecox90

    bigdavecox90
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,948
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +53
    Yeah, so with the default O2 tariffs it would be all included.
     
  11. Jase Winter

    Jase Winter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Tadley
    Ratings:
    +416
    Yeah I have been using this for a while now on my o2 tarrif and have incurred no further costs.
     
  12. gwop

    gwop
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    jailbreak and use pda.net
    if you add the xsellize repo you can get a "unlimited version"
    Just create ad-hoc network and conect via that way

    All i need now is a way to spoof my iphone MAC address on my netbook so i can use cloud or openzone
    on my netbook
    I use leo 10.5.6 aand nothing works.
     
  13. halfords

    halfords
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I am getting a netbook with 3g modem built in can i take out my iphone sim and use in netbook?
     
  14. Red_Stafford

    Red_Stafford
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dudley, West Midlands, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    is there a way of connecting your Xbox360 online through your iPhone using this software ?
     
  15. WATTS

    WATTS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    863
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Black Ops
    Ratings:
    +50
    Im pretty sure the LAG would be horrible... :thumbsdow
     
  16. RuddyRoad

    RuddyRoad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,445
    Actually, funny thought this sounds, I used to play my brother at Burnout Paradise and Resistaance 2 on PSN. Although I have landline broadband, he had a mobile broadband dongle and it worked a treat. The datastream of the 3G network in some instances is faster than some people's home broadband.
     

Share This Page

Loading...