1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using HTPC with Sony VW10HT

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by NedK, Jun 12, 2002.

  1. NedK

    NedK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Fleet, Hants
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello all,

    I've been experimenting with my PC and the VW10 to see if it's worth building a proper HTPC. I used powerstrip to set the HDTV "emulation" resolution, and PowerDVD 4 in full screen mode. The output on the screen comes out smaller than the full panel size, so there is a light border around the picture.

    Is there a way to get the VW10 to scale up to the full size? It doesn't seem to allow me to change to "full" mode, so is this the best I can hope for?

    Rob
     
  2. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    In Powerstrip there is a resolution which is something like 1183x666. Apparently this is the one that works best on the 10HT.
     
  3. NedK

    NedK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Fleet, Hants
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes, that's the resolution I was using. But even on full screen mode it doesn't use the whole panel. I just find the light borders somewhat distracting as they illuminate the walls to the side of my screen.
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    I think the only way you're going to be able to do this is to put powerstrip to a setting like 1280 x 720P at 60Hz HDTV and muck around with the sync settings to get it to lock on. The Sony will then use it's own scaler to make the thing fit the panel but you should get a superiour picture to just going straight in from a DVD.

    Gordon
     
  5. minimivic

    minimivic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shaftesbury, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +16
    1184 x 666 is the correct resolution you will need a VGA to 5 phono cable, and set the projector to DTR ( cant remember ) but not computer. It should work fine and give good results.

    Use the 16:9 LCD 1184x666 resolution in powerstrip.
     

Share This Page

Loading...