Using External HDD with Foxsat HDR

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by rolandh, Feb 20, 2014.

Tags:
  1. rolandh

    rolandh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've got an external HDD plugged into the rear USB port of my G1 Humax Foxsat-HDR, I copied some recordings from the internal 500GB HDD to free up some HDD space, but I've come across a problem when it comes to deleting a recording from the external HDD I get a message saying Can not delete due to file restrictions.

    My external HDD is formatted in EXT3 and the recording that's giving me problems is the Titanic Documentary that was on Channel 5 + 24 on Friday.

    Has anyone got a solution to this problem?

    Roland
     
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,187
    Have you accidentally protected the recording ? With the file highlighted the blue button toggles lock/unlock
     
  3. rolandh

    rolandh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've used the OPT+ menu to lock/unlock & protect/unprotect and still get the same issue.

    Roland
     
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,187
    Run out of ideas. You may have to use a PC booted into Linux to delete the files.
     
  5. rolandh

    rolandh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    It looks like I'm going to have to dig out a Ubuntu CD to delete it then.

    I used a Windows Partition manager Program that can Format to EXT3 as I couldn't find a Ubuntu CD as the flat is in a mess from moving in, could using a Windows Program to format an HDD to EXT3 be the root of the problem?

    Roland
     
  6. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,544
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,187
    I wouldn't have thought so as the Foxsat worked with it.

    You can download a new Ubuntu boot disc image.
     
  7. rolandh

    rolandh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I might give booting to Ubuntu to delete a go now that I've found my Ubuntu Disks.

    Roland
     

Share This Page

Loading...