1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using DVI adapter on VGA - lower quality?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Goof, Apr 12, 2005.

  1. Goof

    Goof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    Recently upgraded to a Z2 but was surprised to find it didn't have a VGA input (I used VGA for my previous AE300). Luckily I had a DVI adapter kicking about from my gfx card and wacked that on the Pj end of the cable.

    Just wondering if this will lower image quality substantially or mess up optimal colour balance?

    TIA :smashin:
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    If I understand your setup correctly, you're feeding RGB analog into the Z2's DVI-I connector via this adaptor, the converse of what's done on a PC's card.

    The adaptor is simply two different connector types with wires connecting corresponding pins, as such it's passive and doesn't affect the signal at all.
     
  3. Goof

    Goof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks KraGorn - so, basically, I'm not deteriorating the signal from VGA standards, but at the same time not gaining any of the benefits of DVI (if there are any!)?

    Do you know if using another adapter on the PC's VGA end (to output from the Radeon's DVI) will allow me to pass a digital signal?
     
  4. ptek

    ptek
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    DVI port has provision for analogue and digital signals, using the rgb-dvi adaptor is purely analogue, exactly the same signal process as a rgb port except they save on adding one extra connection
     
  5. MikeK

    MikeK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +316
    No - it will still pass an anolgue VGA signal, but will use the DVI-I connector instead of the VGA HD15 connector (it's still the same signal though).

    You'd need a DVI-I monitor cable to get the digital connection (this cable could be used to pass either digital or analogue - your choice, and would be used without any adapters)

    DVI-I has extra pins to allow both analogue VGA and digital on the same port.
    DVI-D on the other hand, does not - it's digital only!
     
  6. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Goof: hopefully by now you understand things. :) As Mike says, DVI-I carries both types of signals, but generally you'll want to use the digital side when both devices can handle digital, which in this case they can.

    If you want to go digital then I would suggest you get just a DVI-D cable. This will work perfectly with your equipement but it will only carry the digital signals and not the analog ones as well, which you won't need and plausibly can introduce noise into the digital wires they run alongside.
     
  7. Goof

    Goof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes, thanks Robin, Mike and Ptek - I thought that was probably the case. DVI is something I never gave much heed as I didn't have the capability with my first PJ (AE200) and have never got around to reading up on it. Will need to go do so :)
     
  8. Goof

    Goof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well, looks like there's not much more to it (that I need to know) than mentioned above!

    Although I've seen a couple of people say in theory DVI should provide a 'cleaner' signal being digital-to-digital, is there a noticable benefit using it? (if its benefits are even debatable I think I'd just stick with VGA).
     
  9. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yes, it's usually noticeable, certainly the bigger the screen the easier it is to see noise induced by D->A->D conversions, though the difference depends on the quality of the system of course.

    Why not try it? Get a cheap 2m DVI cable and compare for yourself.
     
  10. Goof

    Goof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    Why didn't I think of that, got a spare DVI cable here from my monitor :rotfl:

    System is HCPC, 9800pro, Theatertek 1.5 - Pj is Sanyo Z2.
     
  11. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I had that setup at one time, well a 9600 but there's no practical difference in an HTPC, you should be pleased with the results using DVI. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...