Using Denon AVR X2200W As Pre Amp For Mains ?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by alex30, May 7, 2016.

  1. alex30

    alex30
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi ,
    I am looking to buy an AVR soon and am considering the Denon AVR X2200W which seems a decent amp for the money.
    As I listen to a lot of music I want it to be a good performer in that respect but thought that I may be able to use the Denon as a pre amp to feed my integrated amp just for the mains.
    I know this is possible with some Denon amps but am not sure about the X2200W.
    Does anyone know for sure if it is possible and if so what connections are needed.
    I thought that possibly the pre outs to zone two would enable this but am not sure.
    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. stevos

    stevos
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +572
    It doesn't have any pre-outs, so no it won't be able to do it.
     
  3. alex30

    alex30
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi, Thanks for that.
    The Zone Outputs on the Denon are labelled as Pre Outs and are designed to feed a second stereo amp in another room but obviously just for stereo reproduction. I imagined I could hook these Pre Outs up to my stereo amp to feed my mains from them but in the same room.
    I figured I could then listen to stereo stuff using only the stereo mode of the Denon but also could have surround sound by using the surround mode of the Denon and still playing the mains from my stereo amp.
    Are you absolutely certain this can't be done or where you not considering the Zone pre outs?
    This is from the Denon blurb:

    Multi-Source/Multi-room
    Enjoy stereo sound from one source in one room, and 5.1 surround sound from another source in the main room. Simply connect a pair of stereo speakers to the multi-room amplified outputs. Or, connect a separate stereo amp and speakers to the Zone 2 pre-outs, and enjoy full 7 channel surround sound in the main room.

    Sorry about this but I'm a little confused and don't want to buy an amp that doesn't do what I want it to. That is play music as well as my present stereo amp. Of course it may be that the Denon plays music very well.
    Regards , Alex.
     
  4. 9u775

    9u775
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +143
    I picked up the AVR-X3200W to provide this exact option over the AVR-X2200W.
     
  5. alex30

    alex30
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    OK,
    So my idea won't work then and the AVR X3200W is the way to go ?
    Looking at the spec I can see the front pre outs on the X3200W.
    Do you know what would happen if you connected Zone 2 Pre Outs to use with Fronts in the main room ? I presume it would may OK for stereo but may give isssues for surround.
    When you use the Pre Outs for the fronts with the X3200W how do you control the volume when in surround mode ?
    Regards, Alex.
     
  6. 9u775

    9u775
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +143
    I'm not entirely sure, I'm afraid. I'm not actually using the pre-outs as yet but plan on purchasing a separate power amp for the FLR speakers at some point in the future.

    There seem to be some limitations to ZONE2 capabilities on these amps which you should probably look into before purchase. Check the relevant pages on the manual here: Connecting ZONE2 AVR-X3200W
     
  7. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +203
    I was looking to do similar- I wanted the pre-outs to run to a power amp all the time so no matter what I played ie multichannel it came out the power amp as well.

    Denon advised me to get the 4000 series if I remember rightly. I ended up getting a Yamaha.
     
  8. alex30

    alex30
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi,
    Thanks for the link which I will follow .
    Regards Alex.
     
  9. alex30

    alex30
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Ok,
    That tells me that I will be probably need an amp with dedicated pre ots for the fronts.
    Thanks for the info.
     
  10. Bbos37

    Bbos37
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +17
    You can use the zone 2 for your purpose
     
  11. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +203
    Only if the the source isn't multichannel.
     
  12. alex30

    alex30
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi,
    So I presume that if I'm playing stereo music things would be fine because the surrounds would be shut off but if I was playing a movie with say 7.1 sound there would be a problem. Is this what you mean ?
    Regards Alex.
     
  13. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +203
    Spot on.
     
  14. alex30

    alex30
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi, Thanks for that valuable info. You have saved me making the wrong purchase .:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice