1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using and exernal de-interlacer / scaler with a CRT TV

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by cwinson, Apr 14, 2004.

  1. cwinson

    cwinson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm about to upgrade my CRT TV to one which takes progressive component in (576p and 480p). Probably going for a Panasonic PD30.

    Wondering whether I should get a decent component switcher (e.g. Zektor) to drive both the CRT TV and my TW100 PJ, or try to do something a bit more clever.

    Toying with the idea of getting an Iscan HD (or similar), with DVI output (720p) to the PJ and progressive component out to the CRT TV (576p/480p) - Note: exact switch mechanism with this setup to be confirmed.

    If I go down this route, I'll be looking to de-interlace my Sky+ signal in the de-interlacer for input into the TV. A good amount of this will be sport.

    So, here's the question - is it worth deinterlacing a 'sport' style program for input into a CRT device (TV), or is it better left alone as an interlaced signal ? I'm obviously not forced into making a decision, as with a fixed panel display.

    Has anyone tried this before ? Is it worth it ? Am I going mad ?

    Chris
     
  2. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    why not get one of the JVC HDTV's (bargain prices!)? They dont have tuners but you dont need one..... then you can feed from a good processor straight into it at high res....

    ad
     
  3. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    Careful! I don't know about the iScan HD, but the iScan Ultra will only output DVI or RGB/Component. It won't provide both simultaneously.
     
  4. cwinson

    cwinson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    gmt steve,

    I won't necessarily need both output simultaneously, but will need to switch as required - either by remote macros or Display Profiles (if/when supported).

    Not sure at this stage exactly how it'll work, but will obviously get this 100% confirmed before parting with £1k.

    At the moment, I'm just trying to get my head around the benefits (if any) of de-interlacing non-'film' material for input into a CRT TV.

    Presumably someone has tried this now that progressive capable CRT TVs (e.g. Panny, Toshiba, JVC - thanks buns.., Thomson etc.) are available ?

    Chris
     
  5. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    the JVC is more than a progressive capable tv..... it is a true HDTV which none of the others you are considering are

    ad
     
  6. cwinson

    cwinson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    buns,

    Do you know if the JVC is properly HDTV compatible? Specifically, does it display 720p with 720 discrete lines & 1280 horizontal resolution

    Some suggestion that the horizontal resolution is correct but not the vertical.

    Chris
     
  7. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I know a man who can probably tell me, I will get back to you on that.....

    ad
     
  8. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    I know that no CRT set can display true HD, which is 1080i in the States. The reason is the shadow mask behind the screen face that all direct view CRTs need to work; it's impossible to make the holes small enough. Back Projection CRTs don't need a shadow mask and so are HD capable (if so spec'd of course).
     

Share This Page

Loading...