1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using a Sky Box as a Freeview Box

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by mr. shr, Sep 28, 2005.

  1. mr. shr

    mr. shr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi there,

    This may be a really crazy question, but can an old sky box be used as a Freeview box? I've got a spare Sky Box and was wondering if I could use that instead of buying a Freeview unit?

    The Sky Box has the "DV3" symbol on the front so does that mean it is an integrated Freview box? If so, how do I connect it up?

    Thanks for any info.

    shr.
     
  2. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +160
    You need to connect a Sky DVB box to a satellite dish pointed at 28.2 deg east. You can get a 'Freesat from Sky' card for £20 to give you the FTV channels i.e. ITV 1 and 2, CH4 and Five. Note ITV 1 and 2 will be going FTA shortly.
     
  3. mr. shr

    mr. shr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks for the reply.

    So I still need to connect the box to my dish then? I was hoping that I could use my external roof aerial and connect that to "Antenna In" socket.
     
  4. joker_zero

    joker_zero
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    No it wont work - not quite as crazy as 1st thought as thats pretty much how dedicated freeview boxes do work, but in one of lifes little ironies the RF reciver in the Sky digital box is in fact just a passthrough analogue.
     
  5. mr. shr

    mr. shr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    431
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    So why do they put an "antenna in" on the back of the Sky Box if it is just a follow throuh? Surely, evey user would connect their antenna directly to their TV or VCR? The Sky Box cannont even use the signal, can it? If anything, the Sky Box would just degrade the signal wouldn't it?

    I think it will probably be easier for me to just buy a cheapo thirty quid freeview box then.
    Also, I've got a Sony Vega TV with built in digital tuner (used for the old ONDigital or ITVDigital network). Is it possible to use the Sony to receive freeview stuff?
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    The Sky box has RF out for 2 uses :

    1. For customers with TV's & videos without scart sockets. The box outputs its video and audio on a pre-set RF channel.

    2. For distributing programmes around the house via co-axial. The RF input on the box means that it will distribute all the terrestrial stuff & its own stuff around the house.

    The Sony Vega TV will pick up Freeview on its digital tuner.
     

Share This Page

Loading...