1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using a scaler with tv signal

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by stritiknaf, Jul 11, 2005.

1. stritiknaf

stritiknaf

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    First of all, let me just state upfront that i'm a newbie in any matters regarding scalers.

What i know about them, is from reading stuff here on the forum and on the internet, and from the research i made with some scaller sellers.

My question is this:

I am on the process of buying a plasma (Samsung PS42S5H Hi-Def model).
    It will be used mainly (70% of the time) to watch TV (i have a cable feed, ariel conection). I want to connect my computer to it to use it as a dvd player, divx/xvid player, and other stuff.

1st question:

Do i have any real improving in picture quality if i use a scaler with the cable source? In other words, can the tv signal be improved with a scaler? (I had a talk with a Cinemateq scaller seller and he told me it was useless with this type of signal)

2nd question:

Can i use a scaler as a "bridge" between my computer and my tv? This is, i want to get the best signal possible from my computer (want to use it as an htpc, and want to watch a lot of movies and series). Do i/can i get a better picture with computer/scaller/tv connection or computer/tv direct connection?

3rd question:

Can i use a scaller to convert my tv connection (ariel) in a dvi or rgb connection??

And this is it!!!

Thank you in advance for your help, and i hope i can get this questions resolved so that i can put together my tv set (the perfect tv set, this is :):) )

Regards from Portugal.

2. Liam @ Prog AV

Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +827